Record Kumho V8 field to highlight Shannons Nationals opener

Evangelou and Haber lead the field at Sandown last year

Evangelou and Haber lead the field at Sandown last year

A record field of 22 cars is set to tackle the opening round of the 2013 Kumho Tyres V8 Touring Car Series when the Shannons Nationals kicks off at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend.

The Western Sydney event will also feature the Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Cars, Kerrick Sports Sedans, Australian Superkarts, Radical Australia Cup and PRB Clubmans.

Six rookies pepper the Kumho V8, with Shae Davies (Fernandez Ford), Matt Chahda (PGC Ford), Dan Day (S&J Ford), Steve Briffa (Ozzy Holden), Josh Kean (THR Holden) and Peter Rullo (Performance Ford) all making their debuts.

Former series winners Terry Wyhoon (Lubrimaxx Ford) and Chris Smerdon (Vectra Ford) return after lay-offs, while 2012 front-runners including Tony Evangelou (501 Ford), Jim Pollicina (Poll Holden) and Morgan Haber (MiraFlores Ford) are also among the entrants.

Last year’s series winner, Josh Hunter, will not compete this season having moved on to the Dunlop Series.

The Kumho category will run with two distinct classes for the first time, separated into those running the newly eligible sequential gearboxes and those with the traditional H-pattern.

A healthy 17 car line-up has entered for the Sports Sedan season-opener, which is once again set to prove a battle between category heavyweights Kerry Baily (Signstations Aston Martin), Darren Hossack (Auto Union Deutsche Audi) and Tony Ricciardello (B&M Alfa).

Defending series winner Simon Tabinor (Eurostar Holden) meanwhile headlines a 25-strong Saloon Car field that features 10 Holdens and 15 Fords.

Twelve PRB Clubmans and 25 Superkarts will complete the weekend action.

Comments are closed.