Van Gisbergen dominant in wet V8 Supercars Race 3

Van Gisbergen cuts through the gloom on the way to victory

Van Gisbergen cuts through the gloom on the way to victory

Shane van Gisbergen has again shown his affinity with wet track conditions by dominating the third race of the MSS Security V8 Supercars Challenge at Albert Park.

Starting ninth on the grid, Van Gisbergen cut his way to the lead by the start of the second lap.

A subsequent trip through the gravel just two corners later temporarily dropped the Tekno Holden to third.

The Kiwi’s speed saw him retake the top spot by the end of Lap 3 before charging away to a stunning 12.6s victory.

Lowndes was second ahead of Jonathon Webb, Fabian Coulthard, David Reynolds, Jason Bright, James Courtney, Will Davison, Michael Caruso and Todd Kelly.

Rain in the hour leading up to the race ensured all cars started on wet tyres.

Drizzle continued to fall for the most part before another heavy downpour on the final lap.

Van Gisbergen was lucky to survive this off on Lap 2

Van Gisbergen was lucky to survive this off on Lap 2

The use of wet tyres meant there were no compulsory pitstops in the 12 lap journey.

Much of the race’s action occurred between the four Nissan entries, with all four Altima drivers showing they were not afraid to swap paint with one another.

The intra-team battle was eventually won by Michael Caruso in ninth.

Jamie Whincup made steady progress from 25th on the grid to finish 13th, one place behind Mark Winterbottom, who lost ground with an off.

Scott McLaughlin was just 24th after his car failed to fire on the warm-up lap, necessitating a pitlane start.

Maro Engel and Garth Tander both failed to see the chequered flag due to electrical issues for the Mercedes and bent steering on the Holden.

Race 4 will take place tomorrow afternoon, with Coulthard and Bright to share the front-row based on cumulative points from the weekend so far.

See below for the Race 3 result

1 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 12 27:08.3375
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 12 27:20.9447
3 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 12 27:24.6820
4 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 12 27:29.4439
5 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 12 27:30.1303
6 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 12 27:39.1943
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 12 27:40.2042
8 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 12 27:40.5672
9 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 12 27:43.3884
10 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 12 27:45.9803
11 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 12 27:49.4087
12 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 12 27:49.5513
13 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 12 27:51.7311
14 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 12 27:53.1915
15 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 12 27:55.1531
16 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 12 27:55.3884
17 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 12 27:57.7304
18 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 12 27:57.9877
19 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 12 28:01.4769
20 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 12 28:06.3132
21 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 12 28:07.0538
22 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 12 28:12.7951
23 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 12 28:13.5836
24 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 12 28:19.2211
25 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 12 28:33.2895
DNF SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG  8 18:57.2206
DNF Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF  1  2:35.0498

Comments are closed.