Craig Baird wins second Carrera Cup race at Albert Park

Craig Baird has struck back in Race #2 of the Carrera Cup

Craig Baird has struck back in Race #2 of the Carrera Cup

Defending Porsche Carrera Cup Champion Craig Baird has won the second race of the weekend, as part of the Australian Grand Prix support events at Albert Park.

After finishing third on the track in the opening race last night, officials moved the Jet Travel Insurance Porsche to second after they relegated Nick Percat back one spot for his forceful move midway through the opening event.

Baird got a strong start and went side-by-side with Race #1 winner Steven Richards into the opening turn. Richards initially fell back to fourth, but then ran wide later in the lap and the Laser Racing Porsche was back down in ninth.

Baird was under plenty of pressure from the Coates Hire Porsche of Percat, but was able to build a small gap through to the finish.

Behind, Warren Luff (No Second Chance) got by Michael Patrizi (Ausdrill/Onsite Racing) 911 to take third place.

Richards worked his way back up to sixth at the finish, after a tough battle which included Shae Davies (Team Kiwi Racing), Steve Johnson (Hunter Sports Group) and Matthew Kingsley (Action Tyres & More).

Max Twigg in the Permagard Automotive Porsche backed-up his Elite Class win in the opening race with another victory and seventh place overall.

RESULTS: Porsche Carrera Cup – Race 2

Position Number Driver Sponsor
1    1   Craig Baird (NZ)  Jet Travel Insurance
2  222   Nicholas Percat (SA)  Coates Hire Racing
3    7   Warren Luff (NSW)  No Second Chance
4   29   Michael Patrizi (WA)  Ausdrill/Onsite Racing
5   17   Steven Johnson (QLD)  Hunter Sports Group
6   12   Steven Richards (Vic)  Laser Plumbing & Electrical
7    8   Max Twigg (VIC)  Permagard Automotive
8   21   Shae Davies (QLD)  Team Kiwi Racing
9   47   James Koundouris (ACT)  Supabarn Supermarkets
10   19   Damien Flack (QLD)  Rosche Vister
11   50   Matthew Kingsley (QLD)  Action Tyres & More
12   20 Duvashen Padayachee (NSW)  Team BRM/Rentcorp Property Grp
13   90   Paul Kelly (NSW)  Paul Kelly Motor Group
14   13   James Bergmuller (VIC)  Porsche Centre Brighton
15   56   Shane Smollen (NSW)  McGrath Estate Agents
16   10   Michael Loccisano (VIC)  Hallmarc/PIARC
17    9   Marc Cini (VIC)  Hallmarc/PIARC
18    4   Stephen Grove (VIC)  Grove Group
19   55   Renee Gracie (QLD)  Fujitsu/Dirt Devil
20    6   Tony Walls (NSW)  Objective Racing
21   24   Tony Bates (VIC)  Pure Energy/N2C
DNF    5   Karl Reindler (WA)  Wilson Security


Comments are closed.