Coulthard doubles up with Race 2 win at Albert Park

Coulthard leads the pack into Turn 1

Coulthard leads the pack into Turn 1

Fabian Coulthard has made it two wins from two starts in the MSS Security V8 Supercars Challenge at Albert Park.

Despite starting from pole and enjoying a strong start, the Lockwood Holden driver again had to come from behind after the pitstops.

Coulthard left his stop until Lap 4, emerging behind the Red Bull Holden of Craig Lowndes, which had taken service at the end of the opening tour.

Coulthard quickly closed the gap however, eventually passing Lowndes with three laps to go before easing away to a two second victory.

Lowndes and Jason Bright were second and third respectively at the flag. A pit clash between the pair will be investigated after the race, with Lowndes appearing to have been released unsafely into Bright’s path.

Will Davison played the long game on the way to fourth, waiting until the end of Lap 8 before taking his stop.

James Moffat took an impressive fifth for Nissan ahead of Scott McLaughlin, David Reynolds, Todd Kelly, Shane van Gisbergen and James Courtney.

Like Davison, Van Gisbergen waited until the closing laps before making his stop. The Kiwi had come from the back of the field after a gearbox failure in Race 1.

Mark Winterbottom also came from deep in the field to finish 12th. The FPR Falcon driver had finished seventh in Race 1, but received a post-race penalty for an unsafe pit release, dropping him to 25th in the final result.

It was Jamie Whincup’s turn to be 25th in Race 2 after a drive-through for spinning his rear wheels during his pitstop. The second of the Red Bull Holdens had been running fourth when issued with the penalty.

Alex Premat failed to start due to the damage sustained to his Holden in Race 1, while mechanical issues saw Garth Tander’s Holden and Tim Slade’s Mercedes fail to finish. As the only car yet to pit, Slade had been leading when his E63 AMG expired.

The third of four V8 Supercars races for the weekend is scheduled for 1520 local time on Saturday, with the grid order to be set by the Race 2 result.

See below for the full Race 2 result

1 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 12 24:38.9131
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 12 24:41.0440
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 12 24:43.8006
4 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 12 24:53.5925
5 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 12 24:54.0468
6 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 12 24:54.5185
7 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 12 24:57.9215
8 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 12 24:58.0861
9 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 12 25:00.5561
10 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 12 25:01.0710
11 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 12 25:02.7777
12 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 12 25:06.7511
13 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 12 25:08.1715
14 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 12 25:08.4217
15 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 12 25:08.6195
16 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 12 25:08.9386
17 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 12 25:10.3475
18 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 12 25:15.6284
19 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 12 25:19.4919
20 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 12 25:20.7545
21 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 12 25:21.0712
22 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 12 25:21.3109
23 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 12 25:21.8149
24 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 12 25:23.2992
25 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 12 25:35.6388
DNF Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG  9 18:22.0515
DNF Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF  4  8:51.1750

Comments are closed.