Whincup the benchmark ahead of V8 Supercars qualifying

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup will head into this evening’s V8 Supercars qualifying session at Albert Park as the man to beat after topping Practice 2.

The Red Bull Racing Australia Holden emerged fastest after a late flurry of soft tyre efforts.

Team-mate Craig Lowndes had earlier repeated his Practice 1 performance by going to the top on his second lap, remaining in that position until just four of the 30 minutes remained.

Todd Kelly was the first to dip into his race allocation, moving temporarily to head of the order by a full second in his Nissan.

Alex Premat then enjoyed a fleeting turn at the top before Whincup’s 1:56.66s lap proved too good for all comers.

Mark Winterbottom got closest to the Red Bull Holden, ending up just 0.15s shy after completing his lap with the chequered flag flying.

Premat and Lowndes ended up third and fourth respectively ahead of Scott McLaughlin, Tony D’Alberto, Shane van Gisbergen, Jonathon Webb, Todd Kelly and Will Davison.

Like Practice 1, the session was free of red flag periods, although several drivers tasted the circuit’s grass verges as they tested the limits.

Qualifying will take place at 1830 local time this evening.

See below for the Practice 2 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:56.6623
2 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:56.8156 0:00.1533
3 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 1:57.0633 0:00.4010
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:57.1191 0:00.4568
5 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 1:57.1497 0:00.4874
6 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:57.1723 0:00.5100
7 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:57.3719 0:00.7096
8 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:57.5018 0:00.8395
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:57.5444 0:00.8821
10 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:57.6076 0:00.9453
11 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:57.7261 0:01.0638
12 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 1:57.9970 0:01.3347
13 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:58.1358 0:01.4735
14 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:58.2741 0:01.6118
15 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:58.7195 0:02.0572
16 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:58.8234 0:02.1611
17 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:58.8795 0:02.2172
18 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 1:59.0021 0:02.3398
19 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:59.0369 0:02.3746
20 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 1:59.1323 0:02.4700
21 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:59.2579 0:02.5956
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:59.2939 0:02.6316
23 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:59.3372 0:02.6749
24 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:59.5966 0:02.9343
25 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:59.6972 0:03.0349
26 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 1:59.7276 0:03.0653
27 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 2:00.2096 0:03.5473
28 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 2:00.2832 0:03.6209


Comments are closed.