Touring Car Masters ready for season kick-off in Sydney

Jim Richards' Falcon Sprint will return to action this weekend

Jim Richards’ Falcon Sprint will return to action this weekend

The 2013 Touring Car Masters season will get underway with a 25 car field this weekend as part of Sydney Motorsport Park’s Top Gear Festival.

The category’s heavy-hitters have all returned for the new season, headlined by former Australian Touring Car Championship stars John Bowe, Jim Richards and Andrew Miedecke.

Richards will start the season in his Ford Falcon Sprint as repair work continues on his AMC Javelin following its heavy crash at last year’s Sandown season finale.

Eddie Abelnica’s Ford Falcon XB will be a part of the Sydney field however despite its incident during practice for the bruising Sandown encounter.

As previously reported, former series winner Gavin Bullas will drive Phil Morris’ Ford Falcon XA in Sydney while his regular mount, a Ford Mustang, is refurbished ahead of a return at Barbagallo Raceway’s Round 2.

Former V8 Ute racer Adam Bressington has had a more permanent car swap, moving from the ex-Steve Mason Chevrolet Camaro to the Jim Morton-owned Holden Monaro, which will be prepared by Hi-Tec Motorsport.

Fellow Ute convert Jason Gomersall is also embarking on a full TCM program this year aboard a Holden Torana having, like Bressington, enjoyed his first taste of the class in late 2012.

Series stalwart Brad Tilley will miss the opening round but is expected to return later in the season. Cameron Tilley has been entered in the famous Ford Falcon XY usually campaigned by his brother.

The Top Gear Festival will also feature Round 1 of the 2013 Radical Australia Cup, in addition to a variety of racing-related attractions including demo runs from Mark Webber in a Red Bull Formula 1 car, and speed comparisons between Webber (F1), Craig Lowndes (V8 Supercar) and Casey Stoner (motorcycle).

The TCM races will utilise SMP’s North Circuit this weekend before again running the full Brabham layout during September’s Muscle Car Masters.

See below for the full TCM entry list

3 Hercules Engines Steve Mason NSW 1966 Ford Mustang Fastback B
4 Ultra Performance Components Tony Edwards VIC 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000 A
8 Panels & Performance Gary O’Brien VIC 1971 Holden HQ GTS B
11 Lion Mill Solutions Gavin Bullas VIC 1973 Ford Falcon XA GT A
12 Shannons Insurance Jim Richards VIC 1964 Ford Falcon Sprint A
13 Black Cat Racing Rory O’Neill SA 1973 Porsche 911 RS B
18 Dunlop Super Dealers/Wilson Security John Bowe VIC 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am A
22 PRT Race Fabrication Nigel Benson SA 1971 Chevrolet Camaro SS B
25 Freestones Transport Paul Freestone VIC 1968 Chevrolet Camaro SS A
26 Toshiba / Copyworld Michael Almond SA 1973 Porsche 911 RS B
27 Fabre Australia Adam Bressington NSW 1971 Holden HQ Monaro A
28 Cannon Trailers Cameron Tilley NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT A
32 SportsMed Amanda Sparks SA 1973 Porsche 911 RS B
33 SportsMed Greg Keene SA 1973 Porsche 911 RS B
35 iseek Racing Jason Gomersall QLD 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000 A
48 Sydney’s Cheapest Cars Eddie Abelnica VIC 1974 Ford Falcon XB Coupe A
52 Outbound Racing / Keith Kassulke PNG 1974 Ford Falcon XB Coupe A
56 Mothers Cleaners, Wax & Polish Brett Youlden VIC 1972 Holden HQ Monaro A
57 Corio Auto Parts Graham Alexander VIC 1968 Holden HT Monaro A
74 Lyndways Builders Wayne Mercer VIC 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO B
75 Mopar Performance Greg Crick TAS 1973 Chrysler Charger E55 A
85 Whiteline Transport Racing Mark King Qld 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS A
88 TIFS – Warehousing & Distribution Tony Karanfilovski NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO A
95 Lubrimaxx Andrew Miedecke NSW 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS A
98 Thunder Road Racing Australia William Viney NSW 1964 Ford Mustang Coupe A


Comments are closed.