Walton holds out Fisher for V8 Ute Race 2 win

Walton claims Race 2 victory in Adelaide

Walton claims Race 2 victory in Adelaide

Queenslander Kris Walton has held off a hard charging Andrew Fisher to secure Race 2 victory in the Auto One Australian V8 Ute Racing Series – protected by Armor All.

Walton, starting from P6 under the category’s reverse, top-10 grid format, charged through the field to take his first victory of the 2013 season in his Rentco Racing Falcon.

The pair diced for several laps before Walton made an aggressive move on lap seven stick and powered to the chequered flag with Fisher pushing him all the way.

Holeshot honours went to Jessie Dixon who started from the front row of the grid but he was quickly swept up by Fisher on lap two.

To his credit the 20-year-old, in his first full year in the V8 Ute series, held out a raft of competitors behind him to claim the final podium spot, his first in the series.

In true V8 ute racing style there was carnage amongst the 32 strong field with five DNFs and one non-starter in Kim Jane who was unable to repair his ute in time after a big impact with a concrete wall in yesterday’s race.

The infamous turn ten caught the #43 Commodore of Charlie Kovacs Jnr who slammed into the wall on the corner’s exit.

Starting from 26th on the grid, Davis Seiders was the hard charger for Race 2 as he finished 16 places better to pick up a top-10 finish.

See below for Race 2 results:

Pos Team Driver Make Best lap
1 Rentco Racing Kris Walton (QLD) Ford 1:36.6653
2 Jesus Racing Team Andrew Fisher (NSW) Ford 1:37.0571
3 Hayman Reese Towbars Jesse Dixon (QLD) Holden 1:37.3738
4 Hawkins transport/HT Racing Ryan Hansford (QLD) Ford 1:36.9873
5 STRATCO Racing Rhys McNally (WA) Holden 1:36.7529
6 Milwaukee Racing Nathan Pretty (VIC) Holden 1:36.9936
7 Tapout Energy Ryal Harris (QLD) Ford 1:36.9982
8 Sage Automation/Roof Seal Gary Baxter (SA) Holden 1:36.8222
9 Sieders Racing Team Charlie O’Brien (NZ) Ford 1:37.4211
10 Sieders Racing Team David Sieders (NSW) Ford 1:36.0919R
11 Sieders Racing/Guide Dogs Vic Elliot Barbour (VIC) Ford 1:36.8154
12 Macmahon Mining Gerard McLeod (VIC) Holden 1:37.9228
13 Fuchs/Hustler Mowers Jack Elsegood (NSW) Ford 1:37.7551
14 Ramjet Cold Air Induction/Rips Phonsy Mullan (VIC) Holden 1:39.0992
15 Thirsty Camel Racing Craig Dontas (SA) Holden 1:38.7398
16 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram (WA) Holden 1:38.4428
17 Go Karting Gold Coast Cam Wilson (QLD) Ford 1:38.6484
18 LCE Qld Pty Ltd Peter Burnitt (QLD) Ford 1:39.9125
19 Brecknock Insurance Brokers Troy Dontas (SA) Holden 1:39.7133
20 Accuweigh/Jaypak Cartons Rhett Noonan (WA) Ford 1:38.3726
21 EZEATM Todd Zani (WA) Holden 1:40.7115
22 Australian Conveyor Racing Noel Edge (SA) Ford 1:41.0988
23 Octane Events Richard Bloomfield (WA) Holden 1:41.2187
24 Western General Body Works Danny Buzadzic (VIC) Ford 1:40.2863
25 Williams Race Tech Tony Longhurst (QLD) Holden 1:37.2334
26 Bacardi Oak Heart Wayne Wakefield (QLD) Ford 1:39.1264
DNF Red Express Deliveries Charlie Kovacs Jr (SA) Holden 1:38.7160
DNF 212 Motorsport Matthew Nolan (QLD) Holden 1:41.6947
DNF HTA/Isuzu Utes/ISEEK Grant Bromley (QLD) Ford 1:40.7395
DNF JMG Racing Jeremy Gray (NSW) Ford 1:50.5424
DNF Dunlop Super Dealer Racing Stephen White (VIC) Holden  

Comments are closed.