Tony D’Alberto tops morning warm-up in Adelaide

Team HiFlex driver Tony D'Alberto

Team HiFlex driver Tony D’Alberto

Teams and drivers have completed on-track preparations for the first race of the 2013 V8 Supercars Championship in Adelaide, with Tony D’Alberto topping a tight morning warm-up.

Just one second separated the first 23 cars at the end of the 20 minutes of running, which saw D’Alberto set the best time of 1:22.31s after the flag fell.

The Hiflex Holden driver’s effort bested Dean Fiore’s previous benchmark by 0.01s, while Fujitsu Racing duo Scott McLaughlin and Alexandre Premat continued their strong Friday form in third and fourth.

Fabian Coulthard, Will Davison, Alex Davison, Russell Ingall, Jonathon Webb and David Reynolds completed the top 10.

The session ran green for its duration, despite James Moffat twice being reduced to a crawling speed in his Norton Nissan with mechanical problems. The former Dick Johnson Racing driver, who will start 13th this afternoon, failed to complete a flying lap during the 20 minutes.

Todd Kelly was the fastest of the four Nissans in 12th after running a pair of somewhat ragged high 1:22s on his first set of tyres.

The Erebus Mercedes entries meanwhile continued to struggle for pace, with Lee Holdsworth the fastest of the trio in 18th.

Race 1 of the 2013 V8 Supercars Championship will kick-off at 1435 local time.

See below for the full warm-up result

1 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:22.3062
2 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 1:22.4103 0:00.1041
3 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 1:22.4257 0:00.1195
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 1:22.4697 0:00.1635
5 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:22.4889 0:00.1827
6 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:22.5541 0:00.2479
7 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:22.6222 0:00.3160
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:22.6738 0:00.3676
9 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:22.6909 0:00.3847
10 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:22.7303 0:00.4241
11 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:22.7520 0:00.4458
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:22.7584 0:00.4522
13 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:22.8107 0:00.5045
14 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:22.8448 0:00.5386
15 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:22.8591 0:00.5529
16 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9078 0:00.6016
17 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:22.9318 0:00.6256
18 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:22.9398 0:00.6336
19 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 1:22.9525 0:00.6463
20 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9566 0:00.6504
21 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:22.9582 0:00.6520
22 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:23.1136 0:00.8074
23 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:23.2649 0:00.9587
24 Heavy Haulage Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 1:23.4745 0:01.1683
25 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:23.7587 0:01.4525
26 Advam Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 1:24.3373 0:02.0311
27 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 1:25.1411 0:02.8349
28 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima

Comments are closed.