Shane van Gisbergen scores pole for Race 1 in Adelaide

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen has beaten Mark Winterbottom to pole position ahead for Race 1 of the 2013 V8 Supercars Championship at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide.

Winterbottom was the third man out in the Top 10 Shootout, with his 1:21.41s time withstanding the challenge from the following six drivers before Van Gisbergen lowered the benchmark to 1:21.36s.

The Kiwi was guaranteed his second career pole and the first for Tekno Autosports when qualifying fast-man Craig Lowndes managed just third.

Fabian Coulthard will share the second row with Lowndes while Jamie Whincup, Jonathon Webb, Will Davison, Alexandre Premat, James Courtney and Scott McLaughlin completed the order.

Van Gisbergen will start from pole position provided the potential threat of an injunction against him driving for Tekno this weekend does not materialise.

CLICK HERE for’s previous story on the ongoing legal issue over van Gisbergen

See below for the full Top 10 Shootout result

1 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:21.3595
2 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:21.4075 0:00.0480
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:21.4453 0:00.0858
4 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:21.4852 0:00.1257
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:21.5258 0:00.1663
6 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:21.5916 0:00.2321
7 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:21.6558 0:00.2963
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 1:21.7859 0:00.4264
9 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:22.1825 0:00.8230
10 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 1:22.2235 0:00.8640

Comments are closed.