Nathan Pretty wins season opening V8 Ute race

Nathan Pretty on his way to wining the opening race of the 2013 V8 Ute Racing series

Nathan Pretty on his way to wining the opening race of the 2013 V8 Ute Racing series

Milwaukee Racing driver Nathan Pretty has won the opening race of the 2013 Auto One Australian V8 Ute Racing Series – protected by Armor All.

After securing pole in this morning’s qualifying session, Pretty jagged the holeshot and from there was never touched in what was a typically argy bardgy battle of V8 Ute racing.

2012 Australian V8 Ute Racing Champion Ryal Harris battled strong in a tightly contested, last lap showdown to secure second place over David Seiders.

Queensland’s Kris Walton secured fourth, with yesterday’s practice pace setter Gary Baxter enjoying a top-five finish on what was his 300th race in the V8 Ute category.

The opening race of the season kicked off in a surprisingly clean fashion but lap four saw mayhem when Kim Jane got sideways at turn one spearing his #27 Commodore into the concrete wall at Centre Chicane.

“There’s a fair bit of damage. We’re going to work our hardest to have it ready for tomorrow but at this stage we don’t know if we’ll make Race 2 until we assess the damage,” said Jane.

While Jane walked away unscathed, the race was yellow flagged as recovery crews spent three laps removing the stricken ute from the track before things could resume with a quick, two-lap sprint to the finish.

The restart saw Troy Dontas in all sorts as he locked things up heading into Centre Chicane and careered into the concrete wall.

The Clipsal 500 event enjoyed another very successful day with attendance figures of over 67,000 once again surpassing last year’s numbers.

Race 2 of the Australian V8 Ute Series kicks off tomorrow at 10.25am local Adelaide time.

See below for Race 1 results

Pos Team Driver Manufacturer Total time
1 Milwaukee Racing Nathan Pretty (VIC) Holden 15:03.0278
2 Tapout Energy Ryal Harris (QLD) Ford 15:03.7832
3 Sieders Racing Team David Sieders (NSW) Ford 15:03.8277
4 Rentco Racing Kris Walton (QLD) Ford 15:04.0910
5 Sage Automation/Roof Seal Gary Baxter (SA) Holden 15:05.0498
6 STRATCO Racing Rhys McNally (WA) Holden 15:06.1747
7 Sieders Racing/Guide Dogs Vic Elliot Barbour (VIC) Ford 15:06.6875
8 Fuchs/Hustler Mowers Jack Elsegood (NSW) Ford 15:07.0058
9 Jesus Racing Team Andrew Fisher (NSW) Ford 15:07.5496
10 Hawkins transport/HT Racing Ryan Hansford (QLD) Ford 15:07.9825
11 Hayman Reese Towbars Jesse Dixon (QLD) Holden 15:08.6535
12 Williams Race Tech Tony Longhurst (QLD) Holden 15:09.1264
13 Sieders Racing Team Charlie O’Brien (NZ) Ford 15:10.6111
14 Macmahon Mining Gerard McLeod (VIC) Holden 15:11.0231
15 Go Karting Gold Coast Cam Wilson (QLD) Ford 15:12.1215
16 JMG Racing Jeremy Gray (NSW) Ford 15:13.2418
17 Ramjet Cold Air Induction/Rips Phonsy Mullan (VIC) Holden 15:14.2055
18 Accuweigh/Jaypak Cartons Rhett Noonan (WA) Ford 15:14.3179
19 Bacardi Oak Heart Wayne Wakefield (QLD) Ford 15:14.5416
20 Red Express Deliveries Charlie Kovacs Jr (SA) Holden 15:15.5334
21 HTA/Isuzu Utes/ISEEK Grant Bromley (QLD) Ford 15:17.2506
22 LCE Qld Pty Ltd Peter Burnitt (QLD) Ford 15:17.6277
23 EZEATM Todd Zani (WA) Holden 15:18.5521
24 Western General Body Works Danny Buzadzic (VIC) Ford 15:20.3788
25 Australian Conveyor Racing Noel Edge (SA) Ford 15:21.0283
26 212 Motorsport Matthew Nolan (QLD) Holden 15:24.7926
27 Octane Events Richard Bloomfield (WA) Holden 15:28.8004
28 Dunlop Super Dealer Racing Stephen White (VIC) Holden 16:03.0454
29 Thirsty Camel Racing Craig Dontas (SA) Holden 16:28.9482
DNF Brecknock Insurance Brokers Troy Dontas (SA) Holden 13:41.8305
DNF Bob Jane T-Marts Kim Jane (VIC) Holden  5:00.5538
DNF Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram (WA) Holden

Comments are closed.