McLaughlin on top as pace quickens in Practice 3

Fujitsu Racing's Scott McLaughlin

Fujitsu Racing’s Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin has narrowly edged out Ford Performance Racing duo Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom to end the third V8 Supercars practice session in Adelaide on top of the time sheets.

The reigning Dunlop Series winner recorded a best of 1:21.57s on his final lap of the 30 minute hit-out as new tyres brought about a flurry of fast times.

Davison moved to within 0.08s of the Fujitsu Racing Holden after the chequered flag fell, bumping team-mate Winterbottom to third.

Walkinshaw Holden drivers Russell Ingall and James Courtney continued their strong start to the day in fourth and fifth respectively while Jonathon Webb, Alexandre Premat, Shane van Gisbergen, Scott Pye and Jamie Whincup completed the top 10.

Whincup’s team-mate Craig Lowndes was 14th after completing the longest unbroken spell of the day so far, clocking 18 consecutive laps.

Although just eighth at sessions end, Van Gisbergen again showed the competitiveness of his Tekno Holden package by sitting atop the times for much of the going thanks to an early 1:22.14s effort.

Rick Kelly repeated his Practice 1 effort of 11th fastest. The Jack Daniel’s Nissan had been as high as third halfway through the session, and later survived a brush with the Turn 4 wall in a car he described as being “very aggressive in the rear”.

Kelly’s Nissan stable-mates Caruso,  Moffat and Todd Kelly were 16th, 19th and 21st respectively, with Moffat continuing to fight brakes problems in his Norton-backed entry.

The Erebus Mercedes AMGs of Lee Holdsworth, Tim Slade and Maro Engel filled 24th through 26th as they struggled to match the increasing pace of their rivals.

The fourth and final practice session of the day will commence at 1345, with qualifying and the Top 10 Shootout to follow later in the afternoon.

See below for the full Practice 3 result

1 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 1:21.5726
2 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:21.6478 0:00.0752
3 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:21.6596 0:00.0870
4 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:21.7181 0:00.1455
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:21.9117 0:00.3391
6 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:22.0127 0:00.4401
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 1:22.0686 0:00.4960
8 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:22.1464 0:00.5738
9 e`kol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:22.1651 0:00.5925
10 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:22.3086 0:00.7360
11 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:22.3642 0:00.7916
12 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:22.4510 0:00.8784
13 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:22.4983 0:00.9257
14 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:22.5696 0:00.9970
15 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:22.5943 0:01.0217
16 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:22.6076 0:01.0350
17 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 1:22.7020 0:01.1294
18 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:22.7832 0:01.2106
19 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:22.8080 0:01.2354
20 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 1:22.8898 0:01.3172
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:23.0008 0:01.4282
22 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:23.0621 0:01.4895
23 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:23.2241 0:01.6515
24 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:23.3531 0:01.7805
25 Heavy Haulage Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 1:23.4695 0:01.8969
26 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 1:23.8920 0:02.3194
27 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 1:23.9514 0:02.3788
28 Advam Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 1:23.9620 0:02.3894

See below for’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Comments are closed.