Mark Winterbottom fastest ahead of Adelaide qualifying

Pepsi Max Crew FPR's Mark Winterbottom

Pepsi Max Crew FPR’s Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom has set the fastest time of the day so far in Practice 4 ahead of what promises to be a gripping qualifying session at the Clipsal 500.

The Ford Performance Racing Falcon driver jumped to the top of the order after the chequered flag fell, eclipsing previous fast-man Shane van Gisbergen by 0.05s.

Will Davison, Jonathon Webb and Jamie Whincup completed the top five having all spent time at the top of the sheets during the final minutes.

Alex Premat was sixth in his Fujitsu Racing Holden, just 0.01s adrift of second-placed Van Gisbergen.

Premat’s team-mate Scott McLaughlin was seventh ahead of Fabian Coulthard, David Reynolds and Russell Ingall.

Coulthard had sat atop the order in his Lockwood Holden prior to the typically late flurry of quick times. The Kiwi was garage bound for the final minutes however as his Brad Jones Racing crew undertook a length set-up change ahead of qualifying.

Craig Lowndes managed just four flying laps in Practice 4 on his way to 11th, with his session punctuated by long set-up changes and an unscheduled trip to the pits to assess damage from a strike against the Turn 1 tyre bundle.

It was Todd Kelly’s turn to be fastest of the four Nissans in 15th – one place ahead of Lee Holdsworth in the quickest of the Erebus Mercedes entries. Both drivers were less than a second away from Winterbottom’s pace.

Winterbottom was less than happy with his car at the end of the session, despite clocking the fastest time.

“I’m happy we’re going in the right direction but it still needs to be tuned up,” said Winterbottom, whose car escaped without damage from a rare half-spin at the exit of Turn 6 early in the session.

“The sessions are so tight back-to-back today and the changes on these cars take twice as long as they used to (mainly due to the lack of quick rear-roll centre adjustment capability with the independent rear suspension). It’s all pretty hectic today.”

Qualifying for Race 1 of the 2013 V8 Supercars Championship will kick-off at 1505 local time ahead of a Top 10 Shootout at 1610.

See below for the full Practice 4 result

1 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:21.1921
2 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:21.2410 0:00.0489
3 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:21.2670 0:00.0749
4 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:21.2872 0:00.0951
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:21.3305 0:00.1384
6 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 1:21.3945 0:00.2024
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 1:21.5201 0:00.3280
8 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:21.5397 0:00.3476
9 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:21.5811 0:00.3890
10 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:21.6816 0:00.4895
11 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:21.8054 0:00.6133
12 e`kol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:21.8633 0:00.6712
13 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:21.9034 0:00.7113
14 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:22.0372 0:00.8451
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:22.1391 0:00.9470
16 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:22.1607 0:00.9686
17 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:22.1968 0:01.0047
18 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:22.2063 0:01.0142
19 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:22.2072 0:01.0151
20 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:22.2254 0:01.0333
21 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:22.3384 0:01.1463
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:22.4579 0:01.2658
23 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 1:22.5253 0:01.3332
24 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 1:22.5387 0:01.3466
25 Heavy Haulage Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 1:22.5812 0:01.3891
26 Advam Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 1:23.1301 0:01.9380
27 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 1:24.0073 0:02.8152
28 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 1:24.5630 0:03.3709

See below for’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Comments are closed.