Jamie Whincup fastest in second Adelaide practice

Red Bull Racing Australia's Jamie Whincup

Red Bull Racing Australia’s Jamie Whincup

Reigning V8 Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup has set the pace in the second of four Friday practice sessions at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide.

The Red Bull Racing Australia driver clocked a 1:22.00s best at the end of first run before heading to pitlane for lengthy changes, and was unable to improve in his two subsequent on-track spells.

Shane van Gisbergen split his session into two, moving to within 0.02s of Whincup on the first flying lap of his second run.

Russell Ingall repeated his Practice 1 effort of third place having, like Whincup, set his best time on his first set of tyres.

Craig Lowndes ended up fourth after enduring a particularly poor run through the traffic, while Fabian Coulthard, Mark Winterbottom, Jason Bright, Alexandre Premat, Scott McLaughlin and Garth Tander completed the top 10.

Winterbottom’s FPR Falcon was the only non-Holden in the first 13 cars.

Like in Practice 1, the majority of teams and drivers continued to struggle with rear-end stability in their cars, which this year feature independent rear suspension as part of the new Car of the Future regulations.

Michael Caruso led the new marques with the 14th fastest time in his Nissan, improving to within 0.7s of Whincup’s best.

Team-mate Rick Kelly, who had been an impressive 11th in Practice 1, struggled with a variety of mechanical and handling issues in the second hit-out, ending up 24th.

Lee Holdsworth was the fastest Mercedes in 18th, just 0.06s slower than Caruso.

A mere 1.5s covered the first 26 cars, while Maro Engel and Jonny Reid brought up the rear of the field, as they did in Practice 1.

Unlike the morning session, Practice 2 ran green for its entire duration.

The third V8 Supercars practice session of the day will kick-off at 1230 local time.

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:22.0021
2 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:22.0192 0:00.0171
3 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:22.0542 0:00.0521
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:22.0923 0:00.0902
5 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:22.2040 0:00.2019
6 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:22.2094 0:00.2073
7 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:22.2446 0:00.2425
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 1:22.2465 0:00.2444
9 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 1:22.2699 0:00.2678
10 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:22.3509 0:00.3488
11 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:22.4983 0:00.4962
12 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 1:22.6270 0:00.6249
13 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:22.6516 0:00.6495
14 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:22.6998 0:00.6977
15 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:22.7300 0:00.7279
16 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:22.7432 0:00.7411
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:22.7511 0:00.7490
18 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:22.7619 0:00.7598
19 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:22.9038 0:00.9017
20 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:22.9363 0:00.9342
21 Heavy Haulage Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 1:22.9534 0:00.9513
22 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9926 0:00.9905
23 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 1:23.0515 0:01.0494
24 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:23.1709 0:01.1688
25 e`kol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:23.2400 0:01.2379
26 Advam Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 1:23.4611 0:01.4590
27 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 1:24.4810 0:02.4789
28 Wilson Security Racing Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 1:24.7445 0:02.7424

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Comments are closed.