Craig Baird takes first win of 2013 Carrera Cup

Craig Baird

Craig Baird

Craig Baird has kicked off his title defence in perfect fashion, winning the opening race of the 2013 Porsche Carrera Cup on the streets of Adelaide.

The New Zealand hero jumped pole-sitter Nick Percat off the line, led into the Senna Chicane and was never seriously headed over the 10 lap race distance.

Percat, driving the Coates Hire Team BRM entry, was content to sit behind the Porsche legend, claiming second place in his first-ever Carrera Cup race.

Passing proved difficult for the rest of the field, with the finishing order sorted by the first corner. Steve Richards leapt from fourth to beat Warren Luff into the the chicane, and the pair remained in that order for the duration.

Shae Davies and Karl Reindler held their positions to take fifth and sixth, while Steve Johnson dropped from seventh to eighth – passed by Matt Kingsley.

James Koudnouris and Max Twigg rounded out the top 10.

The most serious incident of the race saw Team BRM’s Duvashen Padayachee take Marc Cini out at the hairpin, spearing into the side of the Cini’s car. Both cars retired from the race and caused a Safety Car.

Carrera Cup returns to the track at 0950 for Race 2 tomorrow.

See below for Race 1 result

Pos. Team Driver Total time Best lap
1 Jet Travel Insurance Craig Baird (NZ) 17:43.5414 1:23.5923
2 Coates Hire Racing Nicholas Percat (SA) 17:44.1556 1:23.5155
3 Laser Plumbing & Electrical Steven Richards (Vic) 17:45.1090 1:23.4776*
4 N2C/Phase 8 Warren Luff (NSW) 17:47.2085 1:24.1262
5 Team Kiwi Racing Shae Davies (QLD) 17:48.6534 1:24.5107
6 Rusty French Racing/Skye Sands Karl Reindler (WA) 17:48.9998 1:24.5854
7 Action Tyres & More Matthew Kingsley (Qld) 17:49.2806 1:24.5321
8 Hunter Sports Group Steven Johnson (QLD) 17:49.9667 1:24.5901
9 Supabarn Supermarkets James Koundouris (ACT) 17:52.1565 1:25.5471
10 Permagard Automotive Max Twigg (Vic) 17:52.6657 1:25.4934
11 AFS/Pure Energy/N2C Tony Bates (Vic) 17:53.7516 1:25.6399
12 Direct Nappy Supplies Damien Flack (Qld) 17:54.1494 1:25.2320
13 Ausdrill/Onsite Racing Michael Patrizi (WA) 17:56.0610 1:25.5897
14 Hallmarc Michael Loccisano (Vic) 17:59.1735 1:26.6899
15 Porsche Centre Brighton James Bergmuller (Vic) 18:00.6569 1:27.1885
16 Jet Travel Insurance Tony Walls (NSW) 18:06.7752 1:28.1110
17 Coates Hire Racing Stephen Grove (Vic) 18:08.3496 1:28.4817
18 Laser Plumbing & Electrical Shane Smollen (NSW) 18:08.8837 1:26.3159
19 N2C/Phase 8 Renee Gracie (Qld) 18:12.1052 1:29.2315
DNF Team Kiwi Racing Marc Cini (Vic)  1:37.1255 1:37.1255
DNF Rusty French Racing/Skye Sands Duvashen Padayachee NSW  1:38.7836 1:38.7836

Comments are closed.