Former champion set for Aussie Racing Cars return

Adam Gowans will drive this new-look Toyota Aurion

Adam Gowans will drive this new-look Toyota Aurion

Former class champion Adam Gowans is making a return to the Aussie Racing Cars class in 2013.

The 2009 champion has secured support from Valvoline NextGen and Toyota Insurance and will compete in the first two rounds of the series at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide this weekend, plus his local event at Symmons Plains.

Following a hiatus from Aussie Cars in 2012, Gowans has tested his Aurion-shaped car and is looking forward to getting into the opening two rounds.

“It is such a great category, and with a car in the garage, there is no way I could miss the local event,” Gowans said.

“So I committed myself to running a program for Round 1 and 2, but it has all really been made possible with last minute support form Valvoline NextGen and Toyota Insurance.

“Since last racing an Aussie Car at Symmons Plains in 2011, I’ve only been playing round in production cars, including my track-day spec Toyota86. We have only done a 10 lap shake down session to make sure everything runs without doing any hot laps, so I’m really looking forward to getting back in the car in anger and competing at Clipsal.”

Gowans is one of 40 Aussie Racing Car entrants at the Clipsal 500 this weekend.

See below for a provisional ARC entry list for the Clipsal 500.

2 Hi-Tec Oils TBA TBA QLD Holden Cruze
4 Valvoline NextGen Gowans Adam TAS Aurion
7 Arial Motors / Automobility Stevenson Christopher VIC Commodore
8 Griffith Corporation Griffith Mark QLD Commodore
9 Darrell Lea Confectionary Co. Edwards Travis QLD Toyota Aurion
11 Allen Smith Racing Chemello Anthony QLD Falcon
13 Arial Motors Gutierrez George VIC Falcon
14 MRW McDonald Lachlan VIC Commodore
17 Precision Race Engineering/ KTEQ Rentals Robbins Gus VIC Toyota Aurion
18 F&J Professional Computer Services Ford Brian QLD Falcon
19 Betta Computer Services Adams Troy QLD Commodore
22 True Blue Electrics / Middy’s Smith Shayne VIC Falcon
28 Team 28/Maddog Signs/Child’s Earthmover Tyre service/Rising Sun Honda Stephensen Hayden QLD Toyota Aurion
29 League Engineering Pingel Brendon QLD Toyota Aurion
30 The Torque Team Ludbey Grant QLD Falcon
34 RDA Brakes Duckworth Mark NSW Falcon
36 Broo Beer / Perenso Racing Chamberlin Darren NSW Toyota Aurion
38 Armstong Motorsport Bowler Ruth VIC Ford Coupe
40 Artmetal Racing Team Cottrell Dean SA Falcon
42 Young Racing Young Trent NSW Falcon
44 PB Racing Batten Paul VIC Falcon
48 Tyres and More / TT Racing Townsend Nathan QLD Commodore
55 Absolutely Environmental Reynolds John NSW Falcon
53 Allen Smith Racing Smith Allen QLD Falcon
56 All Auto Recycling Rose Sean QLD Holden Cruze
57 Racer Industries McLeod Ryan QLD Holden Cruze
58 Millers Mowers and Motorcycles Skinner Hagen VIC Falcon
63 Uebergang Racing Uebergang Adam QLD Falcon
64 AMP Power Racing / Team CMW Woods Craig NSW Commodore
65 The Torque Team McNamara Glenn QLD Commodore
66 Jordan Deckert Motorsport / Winning Edge Electrical Deckert Jordan QLD Commodore
67 HJS Motorsport / Tri Star Power Deckert Martin QLD Commodore
68 VIP Petfoods Masini Darren VIC Falcon
69 Trussworks Racing Sharp Jamie SA Falcon
72 Beasley Racing Beasley Ben QLD Commodore
75 L&H / Clipsal Sharp Adam VIC Aurion
80 Masini Racing Masini Maurice NSW Falcon
88 Racing Boyd Glenn SA Holden Cruze
89 Ben Dowley Racing Dowley Ben SA Falcon
96 Automobility / Arial Motors Watters Jeff VIC Commodore

Comments are closed.