Fabrizio quickest in World Superbikes opening practice

Michel Fabrizio fastest in opening Phillip Island practice

Michel Fabrizio fastest in opening Phillip Island practice

Italian privateer Michel Fabrizio has upstaged his factory-backed counterparts to set the fastest time on his Aprilia in opening practice for the Superbike World Championship opener at Phillip Island.

Fabrizio, a  past winner at Phillip Island in 2010, set a best lap of 1:31.218s in the 45-minute session, followed by Honda’s Leon Haslam, Suzuki’s Leon Camier, Aprilia’s Sylvain Guintoli and BMW’s Chaz Davies.

Most of the other championship top brass were in the bottom half of the top 10, including Tom Sykes (Kawasaki), Marco Melandri (BMW), Jonathan Rea (Honda) and Carlos Checa (Ducati). Australia’s Jamie Stauffer (Honda) was 12th, three spots in front of countryman Glenn Allerton (BMW).

Checa crashed hard at turn six during the session, but the carnage was far worse in the preceding World Supersport practice hitout when the red-flag had to come out five times because of incidents right around the 4.445km circuit.

Australian duo Josh Hook (Honda) and Mitchell Carr (Triumph) both went down, with their bikes suffering extensive damage. Hook’s team is now preparing a makeshift CBR600RR for Hook to continue competing, but it’s unlikely to be ready in time for this afternoon’s opening qualifying session.


 Practice #1 

Position Rider Team Bike Time
1 Michel Fabrizio Red Devils Roma) Aprilia Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1:31.218
2 Leon Haslam Pata Honda World Superbike Honda CBR BR1000RR 1:31.728
3 Leon Camier Fixi Crescent Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R1000 1:31.803
4 Sylvain Guintoli Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1:31.964
5 Chaz Davies BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK BMW S1000 RR 1:32.046
6 Marco Melandri BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK BMW S1000 RR 1:32.057
7 Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Team Kawasaki ZX-10R 1:32.113
8 Jonathan Rea Pata Honda World Superbike Honda CBR1000RR 1:32.158
9 Carlos Checa Team Ducati Alstare Ducati Panigale 1199 1:32.171
10 Davide Giugliano Althea Racing Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1:32.315
11 Eugene Laverty Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1:32.339
12 Jamie Stauffer Team Honda Racing Honda CBR1000RR 1:32.512
13 Max Neukirchner MR-Racing Ducati Panigale1199 1:32.740
14 Ivan Clementi HTM Racing BMW S1000 RR 1:32.752
15 Alexander Lundh Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1:32.866
16 Loris Baz Kawasaki Racing Team Kawasaki ZX-10R 1:32.882
17 Glen Allerton Next Gen Motorsports BMW S1000 RR 1:32.935
18 Ayrton Badovini Team Ducati Alstare) Ducati Panigale 1199 1:33.006
19 Jules Cluzel Fixi Crescent Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R1000 1:33.172
20 Vittorio Iannuzzo Grillini Dentalmatic SBK BMW S1000 RR 1:33.473
21 Federico Sandi Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1:34.313


Comments are closed.