New Top Fuel format begins tonight in Perth

Friday 1st February, 2013 - 9:14am


Top Fuel heavy hitters Phil Lamattina (near lane) and Darren Morgan are set to light up Perth with a new format this weekend.

Top Fuel heavy hitters Phil Lamattina (near lane) and Darren Morgan are set to light up Perth with a new format this weekend (PIC: ANDRA).

A new format for Top Fuel in the ANDRA Drag Racing Series as devised by the Perth Motorplex will be implemented for the first time this weekend when two rounds of the Australian Top Fuel Championship take place over two consecutive days – tonight and tomorrow night.

The event sees each car qualify then go into a traditional side-by-side matchup.

Rather than the loser getting eliminated immediately, the quickest winners go directly into the finals.

The winners with the fastest elapsed times from the round of racing will go into the final round. The third and fourth fastest competitors will race in the B-Final, whilst the fastest two will race off in the A-Final to be declared the round winner.

The second day will see the format repeated in its entirety, with individual day Champions and an combined Champion crowned.

Just five cars have made the trek to Perth for the event, with last round winner, Mark Sheehan the man in the box seat to try and emulate his enviable winning record on home turf.

Meantime, Phil Lamattina is aiming for his first win of the 2013 season. He has made every final this year so far, but has been suffering from issues with the fuel system in the FUCHS Lubricants/Elders machine.

Allan Dobson will be another strong local competitor, whilst last year’s Championship runner-up, Damien Harris makes his return for Rapisarda Racing.

Current Championship leader, Darren Morgan is aiming for a turnaround of form at the Kwinana Beach venue. Of his last three visits, the Ben Patterson tuned machine has been eliminated twice in the opening stanza. The new format plus a solid start to his season should hold the defending Australian Champion in good stead.

The qualification round for Top Fuel is scheduled to get underway at 6pm on both evenings, with the race round at 8pm and the Finals at 10pm.

Comments are closed.