Jason Johnson continues mixed results with victory in latest WSS

Jason Johnson wins as James McFadden takes lead in WSS standings

Jason Johnson wins as James McFadden takes lead in WSS standings

American Jason Johnson won the latest ENZED World Series Sprintcars Championship in the 35-lap A-Main at Avalon Raceway becoming the third different winner in four nights.

It was the perfect way to strike back in Johnson’s GT Bobcat/HM Racing Maxim after being beaten by series leader James McFadden the night before at Mt Gambier.

“I tell you what it’s great to get a win here at Avalon. This place hasn’t always been the kindest to me in the past so it’s nice to get something positive from the experience here,” Johnson said.

McFadden hunted the American throughout most of the race after his win earlier in the Vortex Race Products Pole Shootout. He chose to start on the inside pole for the feature in his #25 Totally Workwear COOL Chassis.

“Jason got a jump on me at the start and I couldn’t do anything to get back past him,” McFadden said.

There were some post-race jeers directed at Johnson with the crowd unhappy at some alleged infield passing of lapped cars.

“You never intentionally run up on the infield,” Johnson said.

“You never go out there with the place of making ground by doing that. James passed me on the bottom down there once and I got back by him. I wasn’t prepared to give back the lead, that’s all there is to it.”

California’s Tim Kaeding claimed third in his Toyota Parts & Accessories COOL Chassis.

Avalon specialist Matthew Reid claimed fourth ahead of David Murcott with Robbie Farr sixth.

McFadden has taken the lead in the series from Luke Dillon who is in a huge battle in the standings with Steven Lines only 10 points further back with Farr and Johnson only a handful of points further back.

The final round will be held at Warrnambool on New Year’s night.

Top 10 WSS standings after night four

1 James McFadden 1103
2 Luke Dillon 1067
3 Steven Lines 1057
4 Robbie Farr 1033
5 Jason Johnson 1019
6 Shane Stewart 902
7 Brad Keller 891
8 Tim Kaeding 854
9 Daniel Pestka 815
10 Kyle Hirst 771

Comments are closed.