Australian GT Championship signs three-year deal with Pirelli

Australian GT Championship partners with Pirelli

Australian GT Championship partners with Pirelli

The Australian GT Championship featuring a host of exotic marques has inked a three-year contract with Pirelli tyres.

From next year the series will assume the title – Australian GT Championship presented by Pirelli.

The tyres will be supplied by Pirelli’s Australian distributor Trofeo Motorsport with organisers hoping it will be incentive to attract new participants.

“This is going to be very good for Australian GT and the many competitors who compete in the series,” the category owner, Tony Quinn, said.

“The Pirelli investment will also prove attractive to those competitors looking to join the GT field because the benefits are considerable.”

Trofeo general manager Rod Wilson expects the deal to provide Pirelli with a new platform to show off its tyre technology.

“The aim was to not only promote Pirelli but support GT racing and motorsport in general where Pirelli can really exhibit the quality and performance of their tyre technology,” Wilson said.

The Australian GT Championship will break new ground in 2013 by hosting its sixth and final round at the impressive Highlands Motorsport Park complex being built by Quinn at Cromwell, near Queenstown in New Zealand.

It will be the on the main undercard to the second season of New Zealand’s V8 SuperTourers which will host the second of three endurance race legs of their seven-round season.

The Highlands Park event will feature a three-hour race and offer in excess of $50,000 in prizemoney.

Category manager Ken Collier said the new arrangement has helped the series offer a significant purse and lower tyre costs.

“I welcome Pirelli and Trofeo and I believe this deal will really benefit our entrants,” Collier said.

2013 Australian GT Championship calendar
Round 1: Feb 8-10 Bathurst 12-hour
Round 2: Feb 28-Mar 3, Clipsal 500, Adelaide
Round 3: May 24-26 Phillip Island
Round 4: July 12-14 Sydney Motorsport Park
Round 5: Aug 2-4 Queensland Raceway
Round 6: Nov 8-10 Highlands Motorsport Park, NZ

Comments are closed.