FPR allocates its four new cars for 2013

Both Davisons cut laps in the newly designated #6 car today

Both Davisons cut laps in the newly designated #6 car today

David Reynolds has been allocated Ford Performance Racing’s original Car of the Future Falcon FG for the 2013 season.

The factory Ford team has assigned the rising star the team’s first complete Falcon (FPR-1215) which has undergone over 1000km of running ahead of its final test session for the year tomorrow.

Its sister cars, assigned for Mark Winterbottom (FPR-1214) and Will Davison (FPR-1216) were both shaken down by their respective drivers at Winton today ahead of a full-blown test tomorrow.

The team’s fourth car, to be driven by new signing Alex Davison (FPR-1212), will be completed in the new year.

Alex Davison will join in on tomorrow’s test however, and completed 20 laps of gearbox cooler assessment running on behalf of V8 Supercars in brother Will’s car today.

FPR plans to conduct one more test before the compulsory pre-season hit-out at Eastern Creek on February 16.

The two factory teams eyed each other off at Winton

The two factory teams eyed each other off at Winton

Team principal Tim Edwards says that the chassis numbers mean little as all the cars are the same specification.

“There all the same and they’ve all been built at the same time,” Edwards told Speedcafe.com at Winton.

“They are identical. We validated and track tested all of our components in what was the third shell (FPR-1215).

“Once we did more than 1000km of testing with that car, we went hell for leather manufacturing all the components for all the cars.”

Also present at Winton today was the Holden Racing Team, which shook down its second COTF Commodore.

Tony D’Alberto also got his first drive in a COTF machine, completing a shake down in his newly-acquired Walkinshaw Racing-built Commodore VE.

Both HRT and TDR will return to Winton tomorrow. HRT is unlikely to test again before February’s Eastern Creek running, leaving Triple Eight to debut the VF bodywork at Queensland Raceway earlier in the month.

Garry Rogers Motorsport meanwhile undertook its second full day in its first COTF chassis, with Alexandre Premat and Scott McLaughlin sharing seat time. The team will not return to the rural Victorian venue tomorrow.

Comments are closed.