Garth Tander and HRT score final pole of 2012

Holden Racing Team driver Garth Tander

Holden Racing Team driver Garth Tander

Garth Tander has taken his third pole position of the 2012 season after coming out on top in a red flag interrupted qualifying session at Sydney Olympic Park.

The Holden Racing Team driver knocked Will Davison from the top spot by 0.12s with a 1:27.63s time set with less than 15 seconds remaining.

While Davison made a mistake on his final lap and could not improve, Tander ran another 1:27.63s to cement the pole.

The session was held in cool and overcast conditions, with Tander’s time almost two seconds faster than Tim Slade’s Race 29 pole effort set in a hot and sunny Saturday Top 10 Shootout.

“It’s great to get pole because we had a tough day yesterday with no cool suit,” said Tander post-session.

“I wouldn’t say it’s pleasant out there today but it’s certainly going to be less brutal,” he added of the cooler conditions.

“I’m certainly looking forward to today’s race more than yesterday.”

Davison will start second ahead of James Courtney, Jonathon Webb, Craig Lowndes, Mark Winterbottom, James Moffat, Tim Slade, Fabian Coulthard and Steve Owen.

Davison is assured the $20,000 prize for the most poles of the season as the only driver that could have usurped him, Jamie Whincup, had a disastrous session.

Tander picked up his fourth Armor All cheque of the season

Tander picked up his fourth Armor All cheque of the season

The TeamVodafone Holden will start just 24th after causing the third and final red flag by dislodging the Turn 7 apex tyre bundle in a uncharacteristic spin with five minutes of the session remaining.

Earlier red flags had been called due to an electrical problem stranding Russell Ingall and a major mechanical failure stopping the Kelly Racing Holden of Karl Reindler.

Whincup later said he was surprised to be pulled out of the car by his crew after returning to the pitlane following his spin.

“I clearly don’t know the rules,” he said.

“I didn’t think that if you dislodged tyres to cause the red flag you’d have to sit out.

“They even took my fastest lap away so I got heavily shafted.”

Although securing the season pole award, Davison was disappointed to be starting second for the second consecutive day.

“It’s funny, that (getting the $20,000) was the main goal for the weekend, but I’m quite short sighted at the moment because I didn’t maximise my car then,” he said.

“I was quite a bit up on my (last) lap then and made a blue so I’m kicking myself.”

Fujitsu Racing’s Alex Premat did not compete in the session after suffering from severe dehydration in yesterday’s grueling 250km  race. A decision on whether he will compete at all today will be made in the coming hours.

The 30th and final race of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship is set to kick-off at 1505 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 30 Qualifying, Sydney Olympic Park

1 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:27.6295
2 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:27.7492 0:00.1197
3 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:27.8295 0:00.2000
4 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:27.9696 0:00.3401
5 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:27.9961 0:00.3666
6 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:28.1161 0:00.4866
7 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:28.1283 0:00.4988
8 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:28.1795 0:00.5500
9 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.3015 0:00.6720
10 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:28.3094 0:00.6799
11 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.3161 0:00.6866
12 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.3311 0:00.7016
13 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.3541 0:00.7246
14 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:28.3662 0:00.7367
15 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:28.4078 0:00.7783
16 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:28.4625 0:00.8330
17 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:28.4688 0:00.8393
18 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.5133 0:00.8838
19 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.6034 0:00.9739
20 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:28.7938 0:01.1643
21 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.9878 0:01.3583
22 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:28.9963 0:01.3668
23 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.1493 0:01.5198
24 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.4244 0:01.7949
25 Jack Daniel’s Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.4580 0:01.8285
26 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.5622 0:01.9327
27 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:27.6295

Comments are closed.