Mostert on pole for Dunlop Series finale

Chaz Mostert secured his fifth pole of the season

Chaz Mostert secured his fifth pole of the season

Chaz Mostert has secured the final pole position of the 2012 Dunlop V8 Supercars Series follow this morning’s qualifying session Sydney Olympic Park.

Mostert’s fifth pole of the season will see him share the front row with Nick Percat, while series leader Scott McLaughlin and Triple Eight’s Scott Pye ensured that all four title contenders fill the pointy end of the grid.

The Ford Performance Racing driver set the benchmark 1:28.6853s effort with just over six minutes remaining in the 30 minute session. Mostert had been denied the chance to go top at the halfway mark when the red flags flew just seconds before he could conclude a lap.

Percat spent much of the session in third before usurping McLaughlin with just under 90 seconds left thanks to an effort that was still half a second slower than Mostert’s best.

McLaughlin could have secured a front row berth minutes earlier but was let down by a mistake in the final sector, while Pye was fourth despite light contact with the wall in the first half of the session.

Rounding out the top 10 were Dale Wood, Ash Walsh, Rodney Jane, Geoff Emery, Marcus Zukanovic, and Andrew Jones. Jones was stripped of his best time when he caused the third stoppage by nosing into the tyres at Turn 8.

Walsh hit the wall exiting the Turn 6/7 chicane in the final minute of the session, while Luke Youlden will start from 18th having necessitated the second red flag when he dislodged the tyre bundle at the same complex.

George Miedecke also endured a difficult session, clobbering the wall at the exit of Turn 9 in the opening minutes and not returning for the duration.

Race 1 commences later today at 1330.

Result: Dunlop Series Qualifying, Sydney Olympic Park

1 Ford Performance Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 1:28.6853  
2 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.2071 0:00.5218
3 Fujitsu Racing Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 1:29.2174 0:00.5321
4 Triple Eight Race Engineering Scott Pye Holden Commodore VE 1:29.6626 0:00.9773
5 GB Galvanizing/Wilson Tech Dale Wood Holden Commodore VE 1:30.1205 0:01.4352
6 Simpro Racing Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF 1:30.3267 0:01.6414
7 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 1:30.4766 0:01.7913
8 R&J Batteries/Wurth Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 1:31.0243 0:02.3390
9 GSS Mining Rentals Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 1:31.0611 0:02.3758
10 Kitten Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 1:31.2024 0:02.5171
11 Go Karts Go/CEG Rentals Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 1:31.4548 0:02.7695
12 GoKartsGo/Carrington Equipment Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 1:31.5445 0:02.8592
13 MW Motorsport Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 1:32.8689 0:04.1836
14 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 1:34.2607 0:05.5754
15 Earth Ex/Tricor Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE 1:34.5136 0:05.8283
16 Solo Resource Recovery Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 1:35.5147 0:06.8294
17 Pacific Hoists Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 1:35.6051 0:06.9198
18 MW Motorsport Luke Youlden Ford Falcon BF 1:37.9937 0:09.3084
19 Carrington Equipment Group Michael Hector Ford Falcon BF 1:39.2742 0:10.5889
20 Bob Jane T-Marts/Sitech/Sonic George Miedecke Ford Falcon BF 1:41.1475 0:12.4622

Comments are closed.