Davison on top in frantic wet/dry qualifying

Will Davison

Will Davison

Will Davison has moved a step closer to winning $20,000 for scoring the most poles in the 2012 season by topping qualifying ahead of the Top 10 Shootout in Sydney.

The Tradingpost FPR Falcon driver was the class of the field in the dying stages of this morning’s frantic 20 minute session, which was held in drying conditions.

Drivers began switching from wet to slick tyres just past the halfway mark, after which point the times quickly tumbled.

Davison’s fastest lap of 1:29.54s proved 0.6s faster than second placed Rick Kelly, who had set the pace for much of the wet running.

Russell Ingall, Tim Slade, Michael Caruso, Steven Johnson, Alex Premat, James Moffat, Shane van Gisbergen and Tony D’Alberto will complete the Shootout field.

Practice pace-setter Jamie Whincup managed just 14th after a late switch to a third set of tyres while Garth Tander (15th), Craig Lowndes (16th) and Mark Winterbottom (25th) also face difficult afternoons.

Several drivers, including Winterbottom, had their critical final laps spoiled by other cars and a yellow flag around the back of the circuit that flew following contact between Jonathon Webb and the Turn 10 concrete.

The electronic kerb sensors in the Turn 2/3 and 6/7 chicanes were all turned off prior to the session following complaints from the drivers during practice yesterday. Teams were notified of the change on the Local Area Network as the session began.

Davison will be aiming to score his ninth pole of the season when the Top 10 Shootout gets underway at 1200 local time.

“It was a crazy session. It’s always a real challenge in those sort of changing conditions,” said Davison after qualifying.

“When you put a set of slicks on there’s just one dry line so it’s the ultimate challenge for the driver.

“We weren’t the best when the track was damp but the car is great in dry conditions, so as soon as we got the slicks on it was just a matter of going quicker and quicker on each lap.

“I want to tie up the pole position award today. We’ve got a good shot at it but it’s easier said than done putting a ball-tearer in around here.”

Having missed the Shootout, Whincup can now only hope to tie Davison’s pole score having recorded seven over the season so far.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 29 Qualifying, Sydney Olympic Park 

1 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5356
2 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.1359 0:00.6003
3 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.2558 0:00.7202
4 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:30.2721 0:00.7365
5 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.2891 0:00.7535
6 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:30.3980 0:00.8624
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.4118 0:00.8762
8 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:30.5995 0:01.0639
9 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:30.7016 0:01.1660
10 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:30.8696 0:01.3340
11 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.9038 0:01.3682
12 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.9226 0:01.3870
13 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.9300 0:01.3944
14 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.9770 0:01.4414
15 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.9820 0:01.4464
16 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.9989 0:01.4633
17 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:31.0444 0:01.5088
18 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:31.1944 0:01.6588
19 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:31.2196 0:01.6840
20 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:31.5836 0:02.0480
21 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:31.7399 0:02.2043
22 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:31.7422 0:02.2066
23 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:31.7526 0:02.2170
24 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:31.8283 0:02.2927
25 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:31.8486 0:02.3130
26 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:32.6801 0:03.1445
27 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.1485 0:03.6129
28 Jack Daniel’s Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.1699 0:03.6343


See below for Speedcafe.com’s Sydney Telstra 500 Race Guide

Comments are closed.