Whincup edges Davison in final V8 Supercars practice

2012 V8 Supercars champion Jamie Whincup at the Sydney circuit today

2012 V8 Supercars champion Jamie Whincup at the Sydney circuit today

Jamie Whincup has completed practice day at the Sydney Telstra 500 by knocking Will Davison from the top of the times in the dying seconds of Practice 4.

The TeamVodafone driver’s final flying lap of 1:28.40s proved the fastest set over the four 30 minute hit-outs, edging his Ford Performance Racing rival by just 0.04s.

Whincup, who had languished in just 14th before his last, single lap, run, bolted on a set of green tyres in order to take the top spot.

Garth Tander underlined his status as dark horse for success in the weekend’s two 250km races by clocking the third quickest time ahead of Mark Winterbottom, Tim Slade, Craig Lowndes, Tony D’Alberto, Shane van Gisbergen, Jason Bright and Jonathon Webb.

Ambient temperatures remained in the mid-30s during the final session, although a layer of cloud cover that had rolled in during the mid-afternoon dramatically lowered track temperatures, contributing to the faster times.

Negotiating the electronic kerb-hopping sensors in the Turn 2/3 and 6/7 chicanes continued to be a major challenge for the drivers, with fast times continually being erased for infringements.

Rick Kelly suffered the worst at the hands of the system in Practice 4, with the Jack Daniel’s Racing Holden driver having his first five times all taken away. The 2006 champion ended the session 19th.

The V8 Supercars will return to the Sydney Olympic Park Street Circuit for qualifying at 0925 local time tomorrow ahead of the Top 10 Shootout at 1200 and Race 29 of the championship at 1505.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 4, Sydney Olympic Park

1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.3984*
2 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:28.4370  0:00.0386
3 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.5791  0:00.1807
4 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:28.6731  0:00.2747
5 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:28.6747  0:00.2763
6 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.6848  0:00.2864
7 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:28.7331  0:00.3347
8 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:28.7405  0:00.3421
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.7822  0:00.3838
10 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.8495  0:00.4511
11 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:28.8823  0:00.4839
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.8937  0:00.4953
13 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.9182  0:00.5198
14 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:28.9742  0:00.5758
15 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:29.0966  0:00.6982
16 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.3867  0:00.9883
17 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.4750  0:01.0766
18 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.4798  0:01.0814
19 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.5134  0:01.1150
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.5261  0:01.1277
21 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5878  0:01.1894
22 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.6228  0:01.2244
23 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:29.9572  0:01.5588
24 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.0352  0:01.6368
25 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.0549  0:01.6565
26 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.1434  0:01.7450
27 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:30.4458  0:02.0474
28 Jack Daniel’s Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.6232  0:02.2248

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Sydney Telstra 500 Race Guide

Comments are closed.