V8 Utes title contenders clash in qualifying

Ryal Harris

Ryal Harris

V8 Utes officials will investigate a qualifying incident between series leader Ryal Harris and title challenger David Sieders as the final round of the series commenced at Sydney Olympic Park.

Sieders, who had already set the time which would give him third on the starting grid for tomorrow morning’s opening race, spun rearwards into the wall at the exit of the bus stop following nose-to-tail contact with Harris with five minutes remaining in the session.

Harris, who has had his points lead cut to 15 in the past two rounds, made a late jump to sixth fastest in the 20 minute session, but that starting position is now provisional.

The incident overshadowed a dominant performance by Cameron McConville. The Bundaberg-backed driver thrashed the practice lap record, which he had set in an earlier session by 1.1s for a best time of 1:45.5408s.

The Walkinshaw Racing driver put down the fast lap on just his third flier, and elected to sit out the remainder of the session.

Alongside McConville will be Nathan Pretty, while Sieders, Kris Walton, Ryan Hansford, Harris, Andrew Fisher, Craig Dontas, Kim Jane and 2010 Sydney round winner Charlie O’Brien rounding out the top 10.

Reigning Asia-Pacific Rally Champion Chris Atkinson will start from 15th.

Race 1 gets underway at 1125.

Comments are closed.