Michael Patrizi quickest in second Winton practice

Patrizi leads Blanchard through Turn 4

Patrizi leads Blanchard through Turn 4

Tekno Autosports driver Michael Patrizi has topped the time sheets in the second practice session for the bottom 50 percent of the V8 Supercars Championship field at Winton Motor Raceway.

The West Australian languished at the foot of the times alongside team-mate Jonathon Webb for much of the 30 minutes as they circulated on hard compound pre-marked tyres.

Patrizi then bolted on a set of the soft rubber for his final run, jumping to fourth with a pair of 1:24.97s before taking the top spot with 1:24.64s.

The Practice 2 pace was some 0.7s away from the best time set by James Moffat in the morning’s earlier session as teams battled with increasing track temperatures and decreasing tyre stocks.

Alexandre Premat repeated his Practice 1 result of second fastest having shown the way for much of the going.

Taz Douglas joined Patrizi in setting his fastest times on his final run to end up third ahead of Tony D’Alberto, Greg Murphy, David Wall, Karl Reindler, Jason Bright, Steven Johnson and Dean Fiore.

Steve Owen and Webb stuck with the hard compound for the entire session to round out the runners in 13th and 14th respectively.

The session was briefly halted just four minutes in when Greg Murphy’s Pepsi Max Holden went off the road at Turn 3 and became stranded in the gravel.

D’Alberto’s Ford meanwhile suffered cosmetic front-end damage after tagging the back of Patrizi’s Holden early in the session.

The full V8 Supercars field will take to the circuit for Practice 3 at 1330 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 2, Winton Motor Raceway

1 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.6432
2 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.6785 0:00.0353
3 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.8184 0:00.1752
4 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:24.8722 0:00.2290
5 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.9031 0:00.2599
6 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.9565 0:00.3133
7 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.9845 0:00.3413
8 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.0030 0:00.3598
9 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:25.0738 0:00.4306
10 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:25.2476 0:00.6044
11 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:25.2982 0:00.6550
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.4937 0:00.8505
13 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:26.2243 0:01.5811
14 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:26.4057 0:01.7625

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Winton Race Guide

Comments are closed.