Jamie Whincup completes Winton practice on top

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup has set the fastest time of the day to top the fourth and final practice session for the V8 Supercars at Winton Motor Raceway.

The TeamVodafone driver, who could secure his fourth V8 Supercars title tomorrow, clocked a 1:23.77s time on his first lap of the final 30 minute hit-out.

The effort put Whincup as much as 0.8s clear of the field and would prove unbeatable, with even the man himself falling short after going fastest to the first sector on his final attempt.

Tony D’Alberto came closest to eclipsing the time inside the final two minutes – his best effort just 0.25s slower.

The Hiflex Ford driver was one of several drivers to enjoy a healthy bank of pre-marked soft tyres to practice on today having missed the majority of the Gold Coast meeting late last month due to a start-line accident.

Michael Caruso, Mark Winterbottom, Will Davison, Jason Bright, James Moffat, Lee Holdsworth, David Reynolds and Fabian Coulthard completed the top 10 after a session that ran without incident under sunny skies at the rural Victorian venue.

Whincup’s team-mate Craig Lowndes was surprisingly off the pace, ending the session almost a full second adrift of the pace-setter in 20th.

The V8 Supercars will return to the track for qualifying tomorrow ahead of Race 27.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 4, Winton Motor Raceway

1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.7726
2 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:24.0209 0:00.2483
3 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.0734 0:00.3008
4 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:24.1140 0:00.3414
5 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:24.1747 0:00.4021
6 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.2124 0:00.4398
7 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:24.2242 0:00.4516
8 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:24.2347 0:00.4621
9 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:24.2608 0:00.4882
10 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.2886 0:00.5160
11 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:24.3166 0:00.5440
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.3416 0:00.5690
13 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.5271 0:00.7545
14 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:24.5364 0:00.7638
15 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.5950 0:00.8224
16 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.6447 0:00.8721
17 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.6453 0:00.8727
18 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.6643 0:00.8917
19 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.6644 0:00.8918
20 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.6825 0:00.9099
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.7682 0:00.9956
22 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:24.8618 0:01.0892
23 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:24.9599 0:01.1873
24 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.1722 0:01.3996
25 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:25.4277 0:01.6551
26 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.4955 0:01.7229
27 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.6351 0:01.8625
28 Jack Daniel’s Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.7639 0:01.9913

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Winton Race Guide

Comments are closed.