Whincup completes Abu Dhabi domination in Race 26

Jamie Whincup now leads the standings by 296 points over Mark Winterbottom

Jamie Whincup now leads the standings by 296 points over Mark Winterbottom

Jamie Whincup has further extended his commanding lead in the V8 Supercars Championship by completing his domination of the Abu Dhabi event with victory in Race 26.

Whincup’s only scare came in the opening metres when pole-sitter Will Davison made side-to-side contact with the TeamVodafone Holden as the pair fought for the ascendancy on the run to the first corner.

Tim Slade made the most of Davison’s wild start to take second, but the positions would eventually be reversed on the penultimate lap thanks to an inside pass from the Trading Post FPR Ford at Turn 21

Slade led home team-mate Shane van Gisbergen to take his second podium finish of the year, capping a typically solid weekend for the Stone Brothers Falcons on the smooth Yas Marina layout.

Mark Winterbottom took to the grass at the Turn 11/12/13 complex in order to take fifth from James Moffat late in the going while Garth Tander, Lee Holdsworth, Rick Kelly and Fabian Coulthard completed the top 10.

The championship margin between Whincup and Winterbottom now stands at 296 points with just 600 still available over the final two events.

Race 26 ran its full 12 lap distance despite the Safety Car heading the field for three laps following a multi-car incident on Lap 2.

The fracas was triggered by Jonathon Webb tagging Jason Bright at Turn 17, spinning the Team BOC Holden into the path of Karl Reindler and Dean Fiore. The nose-to-tail collision between Reindler and Fiore split the fuel cell in the former’s car, which subsequently caught fire.

Although shaken by memories of his lucky escape from his massive startline fireball at Barbagallo last year, Reindler emerged unscathed.

Webb later served a drive-through penalty for the incident and eventually finished 21st.

Whincup’s win meanwhile ensures Holden the 2012 Manufacturers’ Award, presented to the marque with the most race wins in a season. All 16 of Holden’s victories have been delivered by TeamVodafone, with its factory Holden Racing Team in the midst of a 13 month drought.

The victory is also the VE Series Commodore’s 100th win (from 180 starts) in the V8 Supercars Championship.

The V8 Supercars Championship continues at Winton Motor Raceway in country Victoria in two weeks time.

See below for the full Race 26 result

1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:36.6840
2 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 12 30:37.8160
3 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 12 30:39.5900
4 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 12 30:40.2650
5 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 12 30:43.5860
6 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 12 30:47.8350
7 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:48.2730
8 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 12 30:49.3060
9 Kelly Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:50.2430
10 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:51.0100
11 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:51.3900
12 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 12 30:51.7420
13 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:52.4630
14 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:53.1200
15 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:53.3880
16 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:54.7940
17 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 12 30:55.1480
18 Dick Johnson Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 12 30:57.4900
19 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 12 30:57.6830
20 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 12 30:58.5760
21 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 12 31:01.7040
22 Kelly Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 12 31:01.8960
23 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 12 31:03.2310
24 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 12 31:04.2370
DNF Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2  6 17:25.7770
DNF Dick Johnson Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG  2  4:48.5880
DNF Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2  1  2:24.9960
DNF Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2  1  2:26.7230

See below for the updated points standings after 26 of 30 races

1 Jamie Whincup 3360
2 Mark Winterbottom 3064
3 Craig Lowndes 2971
4 Will Davison 2779
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 2434
6 Tim Slade 2319
7 Garth Tander 2232
8 Lee Holdsworth 1913
9 David Reynolds 1875
10 Fabian Coulthard 1843
11 James Courtney 1811
12 Russell Ingall 1738
13 Jonathon Webb 1651
14 Michael Caruso 1635
15 Rick Kelly 1606
16 Jason Bright 1506
17 Steven Johnson 1459
18 Todd Kelly 1263
19 Michael Patrizi 1184
20 Dean Fiore 1182
21 Steve Owen 1132
22 James Moffat 1060
23 David Wall 1011
24 Tony D’Alberto  990
25 Taz Douglas  916
26 Karl Reindler  886
27 Alexandre Premat  874
28 Greg Murphy  649

Comments are closed.