Stewards hand down points penalties ahead of Race 26

Steve Owen leads Tony D'Alberto and Taz Douglas at the Yas Marina Circuit

Steve Owen leads Tony D’Alberto and Taz Douglas at the Yas Marina Circuit

The stewards have come down hard on four competitors after a number of incidents from Races 24 and 25 of the V8 Supercars Championship at the Yas Marina Circuit yesterday.

Team Hiflex driver Tony D’Alberto was hit hardest, copping a 37 point penalty for his contact with Alexandre Premat and James Courtney at the hairpin on Lap 2 during Race 24.

The incident saw Courtney ruled out of the race with suspension damage, while Premat spun to the back of the field, eventually recovering to 20th place.

The penalty has dropped D’Alberto one place in the championship.

Also in Race 24, the stewards imposed a loss of 25 championship points for Bottle-O Racing’s David Reynolds after he made contact with the VIP Petfoods Falcon of Steve Owen at Turn 8.

The penalty sees Reynolds fall behind Lee Holdsworth in the championship, slipping to ninth.

In Race 25, Owen was on the end of a 25 point penalty of his own for contact with Premat.

Owen’s Dick Johnson Racing stablemate Dean Fiore also copped a 25 point penalty for making contact with a bollard at Turn 8 Lap 12. Fiore also received a suspended fine of $2000 until the end of the year for his misdemeanour.

The third and final 12 lap V8 race of the weekend will take place on Sunday at 1330 local time (1930 AEST).

The grid for Race 26 was set during yesterday’s qualifying session. Ford Performance Racing’s Will Davison will start from pole ahead of double winner Jamie Whincup and Stone Brothers Racing’s Shane van Gisbergen.

See below for the updated points standings ahead of Race 26

1 Jamie Whincup 3260
2 Mark Winterbottom 2990
3 Craig Lowndes 2923
4 Will Davison 2687
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 2354
6 Tim Slade 2233
7 Garth Tander 2168
8 Lee Holdsworth 1853
9 David Reynolds 1829
10 Fabian Coulthard 1791
11 James Courtney 1767
12 Russell Ingall 1700
13 Jonathon Webb 1623
14 Michael Caruso 1595
15 Rick Kelly 1550
16 Jason Bright 1506
17 Steven Johnson 1425
18 Todd Kelly 1263
19 Dean Fiore 1207
20 Michael Patrizi 1152
21 Steve Owen 1102
22 James Moffat  992
23 David Wall  989
24 Tony D’Alberto  954
25 Taz Douglas  892
26 Karl Reindler  886
27 Alexandre Premat  832
28 Greg Murphy  649

Comments are closed.