Jonathon Webb tops opening Abu Dhabi practice

Jonathon Webb's new-look Heavy Haulage Australia backed Holden

Jonathon Webb’s new-look Heavy Haulage Australia backed Holden

Tekno Autosports driver Jonathon Webb has continued his strong run of form by topping the opening practice session for the V8 Supercars Championship in Abu Dhabi.

Webb’s set his best time of 2:14.88s on his 10th and penultimate lap, which proved almost 0.5s quicker than the next fastest man, Steve Owen.

Tim Slade, Jamie Whincup, Michael Caruso, Lee Holdsworth, Will Davison, Shane van Gisbergen, James Moffat and Alex Premat completed the top 10.

The 30 minute session  was held in typically hot and sunny conditions and saw the V8 Supercars competitors taste Yas Marina’s full Grand Prix layout for the first time.

Cars frequently took to the abundant tarmac run-off areas as the drivers explored the limits of the ‘dirty’ surface, with minor contact between Caruso and Fabian Coulthard at the Turn 7 hairpin the only notable incident.

James Courtney, meanwhile, was parked in the pitlane for five minutes by officials after hitting the Turn 1 apex bollard.

Greg Murphy ended the 30 minutes at the foot of the time sheets after a session blighted by mechanical issues. The Kiwi’s single flying lap proved a full 4.4s slower than Webb’s best.

Teams have six sets of new tyres (three soft and three hard) to use over the weekend, with no pre-marked practice tyres brought over from Australia.

A second 30 minute practice session will take place prior to qualifying.

See below for the full session result

1 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 2:14.8790R
2 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 2:15.3440 0:00.4650
3 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 2:15.4320 0:00.5530
4 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 2:15.5270 0:00.6480
5 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 2:15.8090 0:00.9300
6 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 2:15.8490 0:00.9700
7 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 2:15.8570 0:00.9780
8 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 2:15.9480 0:01.0690
9 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 2:16.1470 0:01.2680
10 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 2:16.3120 0:01.4330
11 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 2:16.3980 0:01.5190
12 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 2:16.4360 0:01.5570
13 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 2:16.5020 0:01.6230
14 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 2:16.5470 0:01.6680
15 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 2:16.6630 0:01.7840
16 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 2:16.7570 0:01.8780
17 Kelly Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 2:16.7740 0:01.8950
18 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 2:16.7750 0:01.8960
19 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 2:16.8950 0:02.0160
20 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 2:17.2640 0:02.3850
21 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 2:17.2880 0:02.4090
22 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 2:17.3280 0:02.4490
23 Dick Johnson Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 2:17.3890 0:02.5100
24 Dick Johnson Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 2:17.4550 0:02.5760
25 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 2:17.8190 0:02.9400
26 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 2:17.9710 0:03.0920
27 Kelly Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 2:19.0350 0:04.1560
28 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 2:19.3220 0:04.4430

See below for’s Abu Dhabi Race Guide

Comments are closed.