Stoner secures Phillip Island victory, Lorenzo takes title

Casey Stoner has taken victory in his final MotoGP event at Phillip Island

Casey Stoner has taken victory in his final MotoGP event at Phillip Island

Casey Stoner has scored his sixth consecutive Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix victory in a race that saw Jorge Lorenzo secure the 2012 MotoGP World Championship title.

Pole-sitter Stoner fell to third off the start, but would retake the lead on just the second lap when team-mate Dani Pedrosa lost the front of his Honda at Turn 4.

With Pedrosa out of the race, the second-placed Jorge Lorenzo would need just a handful of points to wrap-up the crown before the final round in Valencia.

The situation left a somewhat dull contest to unfold in front of the 53,000 strong record crowd, with Stoner gradually edging away to be a race-high 9.2s ahead by the chequered flag.

The 27-year-old showed no signs of weakness from the ankle injury that curtailed his season, with the result marking his first win since returning from an enforced lay-off two races ago.

Australian MotoGP winner Casey Stoner on the podium with Jorge Lorenzo (left) and Cal Crutchlow (right)

Australian MotoGP winner Casey Stoner on the podium with Jorge Lorenzo, left, and Cal Crutchlow, right. (PIC: Ben O’Connor/

Cal Crutchlow had a lonely ride to third, while Andrea Doviziso won a race-long scrap with Alvaro Bautista and Stefan Bradl to take fourth.

Valentino Rossi fended off the advances of Ducati team-mate Nicky Hayden for seventh, while Karl Abraham and top Claiming Rule Team rider Aleix Espargaro completed the top 10.

Espargargo beat his Aspar team-mate Randy de Puniet by just 0.04s to take the 10th position.

Roberto Rolfo, Colin Edwards and James Ellison joined Pedrosa on the retirements list, with Ellison crashing out on just the sixth lap.

Stoner’s victory capped off a near perfect day for the local fans at Phillip Island after Australians Anthony West and Arthur Sissis made podium appearances in the Moto2 and Moto3 classes respectively.

CLICK HERE for’s Moto2 race report and full result

CLICK HERE for’s Moto3 race report and full result

The 2012 MotoGP season concludes with Grand Prix of Valencia in two weeks time.

Result, MotoGP, Phillip Island

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 1 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team Honda 175.7 41’01.324
2 20 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 175.0 +9.223
3 16 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 174.6 +14.570
4 13 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 174.0 +23.303
5 11 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 174.0 +23.432
6 10 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 174.0 +23.467
7 9 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 173.0 +37.113
8 8 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 173.0 +38.387
9 7 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati 172.0 +52.613
10 6 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 171.5 +1’00.299
11 5 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 171.5 +1’00.342
12 4 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 170.0 +1’21.951
13 3 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 169.6 +1’27.857
14 2 51 Michele PIRRO ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini FTR 168.3 1 Lap
15 1 22 Ivan SILVA SPA Avintia Blusens BQR 166.8 1 Lap
Not Classified
84 Roberto ROLFO ITA Speed Master ART 168.2 9 Laps
5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter 163.7 21 Laps
77 James ELLISON GBR Paul Bird Motorsport ART 167.2 22 Laps
26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 164.9 26 Laps

Championship standings

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 350
2 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 307
3 Casey STONER Honda AUS 238
4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Yamaha ITA 208
5 Alvaro BAUTISTA Honda SPA 165
6 Valentino ROSSI Ducati ITA 157
7 Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 151
8 Stefan BRADL Honda GER 135
9 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 122
10 Ben SPIES Yamaha USA 88
11 Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 83
14 Karel ABRAHAM Ducati CZE 50
15 Michele PIRRO FTR ITA 32
18 Colin EDWARDS Suter USA 25
19 Danilo PETRUCCI Ioda-Suter ITA 19
20 Jonathan REA Honda GBR 17
21 Mattia PASINI ART ITA 13
22 Ivan SILVA BQR SPA 12
23 Toni ELIAS Ducati SPA 10
24 Katsuyuki NAKASUGA Yamaha JPN 7
25 Steve RAPP APR USA 2
26 David SALOM BQR SPA 1

Comments are closed.