Cortese wins as Australian Sissis stars in Moto3

Sunday 28th October, 2012 - 12:46pm


The MotoGP field race through Honda Corner on the opening lap

The Moto3 field race through Honda Corner on the opening lap (PIC: Ben O’Connor/

Recently crowned 2012 Moto3 World Champion Sandro Cortese has taken his fifth win of the season at Phillip Island in a Grand Prix that saw Australian hope Arthur Sissis star with a maiden podium finish.

Pole-sitter Cortese dropped as low as fifth in the opening corners before working his way back to the lead by one-third distance.

Cortese and eventual second-place finisher Miguel Oliveira then managed to break away from the chasing pack, with both riders spending time at the front before the German put the hammer down with three laps to go, eventually taking the win by 2.11s.

The result marked Oliveira’s best-ever Grand Prix finish, and came after the Portuguese rider fell from his Suter twice during the morning warm-up session.

The battle for third proved intense right to the chequered flag, with Sissis edging fourth-placed Alex Rins by just 0.05.

Danny Kent, Romano Fenati, Alessandro Tonucci and Efren Vazquez filled fifth through eighth, with Vazquez less than one second behind Sissis at the finish.

Category wild man Maverick Vinales had been in the thick of the third-placed battle before crashing out at Siberia with eight laps to go.

Early leader Zulfahmi Khairudden was also a late retirement after suffering mechanical problems while holding down ninth.

Jonas Folger, Luis Salom and Louis Rossi joined Khairudden in the top five during the early laps but each had their chances dashed by jump-start penalties.

Australian Jack Miller was another to fall foul of start-line eagerness, with the Australian eventually finishing 21st after serving his ride-through.

Results, Moto3, Phillip Island

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 160.1 38’20.014
2 20 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 160.0 +2.108
3 16 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 159.8 +5.031
4 13 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 159.8 +5.084
5 11 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 159.8 +5.107
6 10 5 Romano FENATI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 159.8 +5.109
7 9 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 159.8 +5.374
8 8 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 159.7 +5.894
9 7 12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 158.0 +30.783
10 6 32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 158.0 +30.911
11 5 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 157.9 +32.803
12 4 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 157.8 +33.302
13 3 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 157.8 +33.479
14 2 41 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 157.8 +34.102
15 1 39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 157.1 +43.749
16 89 Alan TECHER FRA Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 157.1 +43.827
17 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 156.8 +49.394
18 80 Armando PONTONE ITA Ioda Team Italia Ioda 155.6 +1’06.551
19 17 John McPHEE GBR Caretta Technology KRP Honda 155.6 +1’06.588
20 96 Louis ROSSI FRA Racing Team Germany FTR Honda 155.5 +1’08.801
21 8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology Honda 155.5 +1’08.908
22 51 Kenta FUJII JPN Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 155.4 +1’10.030
23 30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 155.4 +1’10.411
24 75 Lincoln GILDING AUS K1 Racing Honda 153.9 +1’33.510
25 36 Sam CLARKE AUS Fastline GP Racing Honda 147.7 1 Lap
Not Classified
63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo KTM 158.8 4 Laps
9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Racing Team Germany Honda 154.3 7 Laps
25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens Avintia FTR Honda 159.9 9 Laps
31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing KTM 156.0 12 Laps
29 Luca AMATO GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 156.8 15 Laps
20 Riccardo MORETTI ITA Mahindra Racing Mahindra 142.2 22 Laps comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!