Marc Lieb leads the way in first co-driver practice

Marc Lieb at the Gold Coast street circuit

Marc Lieb at the Gold Coast street circuit

Tekno Autosports’ German import Marc Lieb has recorded the fastest time in a relatively trouble-free opening practice session for the international co-drivers at the Armor All Gold Coast 600.

Sebastien Bourdais set the early pace in TeamVodafone’s #1 Holden, sitting at the top of the sheets for the opening 35 of the 40 minutes.

IRWIN Racing’s Simon Pagenaud then displaced his fellow Frenchman with a pair of fast laps inside the final five minutes, before Lieb trumped the pair of them with a 1:13.06s effort on his final lap.

This year marks Lieb’s second consecutive appearance on the Gold Coast after competing in the IRWIN Ford last year.

Nick Heidfeld joined Lieb in setting his best time on his last attempt to be fourth fastest in The Bottle-O Falcon ahead of Ryan Briscoe, Tonio Liuzzi, James Hinchcliffe, Darren Turner, David Brabham and Stephane Sarrazin.

Tyre condition played its traditional part in the order of the session, with teams juggling their eight pre-marked and four green tyres available to them across the day.

The session ran green for its duration as the internationals methodically worked their way into a groove around the Surfers Paradise circuit.

As in the first session, teams focussed on schooling their drivers on the limits of the electronic sensors within the Turn 2 and Turn 7/8/9/10 chicane. With the high ‘inner kerbs’ proving a significant deterrent against cutting the chicanes, several of the primary drivers watching their co-drivers in action expressed their desire to see the sensors turned off altogether.

Of those to strike minor trouble during the session, Lucas di Grassi and Justin Wilson both visited the Turn 11 escape road, while Jamie Campbell-Walter nosed the #21 Holden into the tyre barrier at the exit of the final hairpin.

Three seconds separated fast-man Lieb from the slowest runner Max Papis at the end of the 40 minutes.

Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport’s international Mike Conway was unable to turn any laps in the session following primary driver Taz Douglas’ crash in the first chicane during the opening stages of Practice 1.

CLICK HERE for’s report and full result from the opening session

The third practice session, which will again be for the international co-drivers only, is scheduled to get underway at 1335 local time.

See below for the full session result

1 Tekno Autosports Marc Lieb Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.0563
2 Irwin Racing Simon Pagenaud Ford Falcon FG 1:13.1241 0:00.0678
3 TeamVodafone Sebastien Bourdais Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.2514 0:00.1951
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team Nick Heidfeld Ford Falcon FG 1:13.2745 0:00.2182
5 Holden Racing Team Ryan Briscoe Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.3909 0:00.3346
6 Team Hiflex Tonio Liuzzi Ford Falcon FG 1:13.3919 0:00.3356
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM James Hinchcliffe Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.4500 0:00.3937
8 Holden Racing Team Darren Turner Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.7902 0:00.7339
9 Lucky 7 Racing David Brabham Ford Falcon FG 1:13.8301 0:00.7738
10 Team BOC Stephane Sarrazin Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.9305 0:00.8742
11 VIP Petfoods Boris Said Ford Falcon FG 1:13.9563 0:00.9000
12 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Will Power Ford Falcon FG 1:13.9989 0:00.9426
13 Trading Post FPR Ford Mika Salo Ford Falcon FG 1:14.0279 0:00.9716
14 Tekno Autosports Lucas di Grassi Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.0618 0:01.0055
15 Supercheap Auto Racing Peter Dumbreck Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.3520 0:01.2957
16 Jim Beam Racing Gianni Morbidelli Ford Falcon FG 1:14.3543 0:01.2980
17 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Franck Montagny Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.3811 0:01.3248
18 SP Tools Racing Jeroen Bleekemolen Ford Falcon FG 1:14.3910 0:01.3347
19 TeamVodafone Richard Lyons Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.4241 0:01.3678
20 Lockwood Racing Nicolas Minassian Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.4617 0:01.4054
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Graham Rahal Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.5782 0:01.5219
22 Wilson Security Racing Jamie Campbell-Walter Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.6198 0:01.5635
23 Fujitsu Racing GRM Ricky Taylor Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.3122 0:02.2559
24 Pepsi Max Crew Justin Wilson Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.3497 0:02.2934
25 Team Norton DJR Peter Kox Ford Falcon FG 1:15.8083 0:02.7520
26 Jack Daniel’s Racing Marco Andretti Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.9732 0:02.9169
27 Jim Beam Racing Max Papis Ford Falcon FG 1:16.1048 0:03.0485

See below for’s Armor All Gold Coast 600 Race Guide

Comments are closed.