Percat holds out Mostert for Race 2 victory

Percat defeated Mostert by a tiny margin

Percat defeated Mostert by a tiny margin

Nick Percat has held out a determined Chaz Mostert to secure a double-victory in Round 5 of the Dunlop Series at Bathurst.

The Coates Hire Holden driver repeated his Friday effort by leading every lap, but this time faced a race-long challenge from fellow front-row starter Mostert.

Mostert appeared to have the pace for the majority of the distance, with Percat receiving a bad sportsmanship flag mid-race for over-aggressively defending his position.

Percat looked to have the race won, however, when Mostert touched the wall on the run to McPhillamy Park and fell more than a second adrift with three laps remaining.

The Ford Performance Racing driver then fought back, running side-by-side with Percat into The Chase on the final lap before missing out on victory by just 0.13s.

Scott Pye finished third having briefly passing Mostert in the early stages with a dive-bomb move at Hell Corner. The manouvre occurred immediately after the Ford driver had enjoyed his own quick exchange of positions with Percat at The Chase and Murray’s Corner.

Filling fourth through 10th at the flag were Luke Youlden, Dale Wood, Scott McLaughlin, Tim Blanchard, George Miedecke, Andrew Jones and Geoff Emery.

Despite McLaughlin’s charge from 13th on the grid, the results see Mostert retake the points lead with two rounds remaining.

The 14 lap race featured a single Safety Car period towards its halfway mark after a crash from Aaron McGIll at the exit of McPhillamy.

Aaren Russell also came a cropper, crashing at The Cutting on the final lap.

Mostert now holds a 20 point lead over McLaughlin after five of seven rounds with Percat 104 points further adrift in third.

See below for the full Race 2 result

1 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 14 32:07.1613
2 Ford Performance Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 14 32:07.2898
3 Triple Eight Race Engineering Scott Pye Holden Commodore VE 14 32:09.7148
4 Jayco Luke Youlden Ford Falcon BF 14 32:13.3694
5 GB Galvanizing/Wilson Tech Dale Wood Holden Commodore VE 14 32:14.2563
6 Fujitsu Racing Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 14 32:14.2891
7 Jaylec Automotive Electrical Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 14 32:18.4994
8 Bob Jane T-Marts/Sitech/Sonic George Miedecke Ford Falcon BF 14 32:20.1110
9 AzNew Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 14 32:21.8917
10 R&J Batteries/EarthEx Logistic Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 14 32:26.9745
11 Simpro Racing Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF 14 32:28.6792
12 Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 14 32:32.9212
13 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 14 32:34.2489
14 GSS Mining Rentals/ReCar Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 14 32:35.5975
15 Drill Pro Daniel Jilesen Ford Falcon BF 14 32:36.5427
16 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 14 32:48.5711
17 Eggleston Racing Ben Eggleston Holden Commodore VE 14 32:49.4766
18 Warrin Mining Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 14 33:20.9397
DNF Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 13 30:23.9407
DNF Minda/Jenny Barbar Recruitment Elliot Barbour Holden Commodore VE2  8 20:29.6352
DNF Carrington Equipment Group Michael Hector Ford Falcon BF  5 11:44.0212
DNF Solo Resource Recovery Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF  5 14:21.0635

See below for the updated points standings after Round 5 of 7

1 Chaz Mostert 1278
2 Scott McLaughlin 1258
3 Nick Percat 1154
4 Scott Pye 1150
5 Luke Youlden 1003
6 Ashley Walsh  918
7 Tim Blanchard  808
8 George Miedecke  774
9 Dale Wood  751
10 Drew Russell  723
11 Geoff Emery  709
12 Andrew Jones  662
13 David Russell  656
14 Rodney Jane  637
15 Marcus Zukanovic  590
16 Elliot Barbour  574
17 Aaren Russell  520
18 Brett Stewart  511
19 Daniel Jilesen  484
20 Adam Wallis  388
21 Cameron Waters  384
22 Michael Hector  333
23 Nandi Kiss  251
24 Paul Morris  196
25 Aaron McGill  189
26 Ben Eggleston  117
27 Morgan Haber   75
28 Kristian Lindbom   53
29 Matt Hansen   51

See below for’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Race Guide.

Comments are closed.