Jamie Whincup flies in final Thursday practice

Thursday 4th October, 2012 - 3:51pm


Jamie Whincup has set a blistering benchmark at Mount Panorama

Jamie Whincup has set a blistering benchmark at Mount Panorama

Jamie Whincup has set the tone for a fast-paced weekend at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 by recording a 2:07.36s lap to top the third and final practice session of the day.

The TeamVodafone driver made his move inside the final five of the 50 minutes, undercutting previous fast-man Will Davison by 0.94s on his new tyre run.

Davison subsequently improved to move within 0.46s of his rival, ensuring he would end the session second fastest.

A series of late efforts saw Craig Lowndes, David Reynolds, Fabian Coulthard, James Courtney, Jason Bright, Michael Caruso, Tony D’Alberto and Mark Winterbottom fill third through 10th.

The session ran green for its duration, with reports of kangaroos on Conrod Straight the only major concern.

The David Wall/Chris Pither Holden returned to the circuit following its Practice 2 accident, recording the 23rd fastest time.

The Shannons Supercar Showdown Holden continued to hold down the foot of the timesheets, some 4.6s from the pace.

Results, Practice 4

S J.Whincup/P.Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 2:07.3565*
2 W.Davison/J.McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 2:07.8181 0:00.4616
3 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 2:07.9792 0:00.6227
4 D.Reynolds/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG 2:08.0591 0:00.7026
5 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.1614 0:00.8049
6 J.Courtney/C.McConville Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.2089 0:00.8524
7 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.3175 0:00.9610
8 Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.5395 0:01.1830
9 T.D’Alberto/D.Wood Ford Falcon FG 2:08.6446 0:01.2881
10 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 2:08.6529 0:01.2964
11 S.Owen/P.Morris Ford Falcon FG 2:08.7008 0:01.3443
12 Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 2:08.7219 0:01.3654
13 Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 2:08.8775 0:01.5210
14 R.Ingall/C.Klien Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.8875 0:01.5310
15 Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 2:08.8910 0:01.5345
16 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.9575 0:01.6010
17 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 2:08.9883 0:01.6318
18 Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.9928 0:01.6363
19 Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 2:09.0298 0:01.6733
20 Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.0879 0:01.7314
21 James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 2:09.0881 0:01.7316
22 G.Murphy/O.Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.1050 0:01.7485
23 David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.1562 0:01.7997
24 Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.2184 0:01.8619
25 M.Patrizi/J.Reid Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.3184 0:01.9619
26 Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.4048 0:02.0483
27 T.Douglas/S.Pye Holden Commodore VE2 2:10.0375 0:02.6810
28 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 2:10.3280 0:02.9715
29 C.Waters/J.Dixon Holden Commodore VE2 2:12.0081 0:04.6516

Comments are closed.

Speedcafe.com has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the Speedcafe.com promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!