Next-gen Jones ready for Bathurst debut

Macauley Jones in action at Sandown

Macauley Jones in action at Sandown

Macauley Jones says he’ll be leaning on the advice of his multiple Bathurst 1000 podium finishing father Brad Jones when he tackles his first race at the daunting Mount Panorama circuit early next month.

The 17-year-old Macauley is currently contending for the Australian Formula Ford Championship’s Rookie of the Year honours, leading rival Sam Power by just two points with two rounds remaining.

The October 6-9 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 weekend will mark the first time that an AFFC round has been held at Bathurst since 1995 – the year that current Brad Jones Racing V8 Supercars star Jason Bright secured the open-wheel title.

“I’m excited (about going to Bathurst), I’m really going to lean on the knowledge of the drivers in the V8 team in the lead up to the weekend,” said Jones of the weekend.

“Obviously I’ve been talking to dad a lot too, he has an awful lot of experience around there; it’s his best and favourite circuit.

“Last year I worked with the V8 team, and I’ve been to the last five Bathurst 1000s. I definitely have a feeling for which way the track goes, I’ve gathered a lot of knowledge about the place without ever racing there before.”

A 17-car field has entered for the Bathurst round, headlined by Jones’ championship leading CAMS Rising Star team-mate, Jack Le Brocq.

Also among the field at Bathurst will be Liam Sager, who returns to the championship with Evans Motorsport following four rounds on the sidelines.

Sager is one of a handful of drivers to have Bathurst experience after competing in the Kent races at this year’s Bathurst Motor Festival, and says he’s expecting strong results.

“To be able to get back into a championship class car and to race at Bathurst again is fantastic,” he said.

“I’ll be giving it everything to bring home a race win for the team, I don’t have to worry about championship points so I’ll be going all out for a win.”

See below for the full Bathurst Formula Ford entry list

2 Sonic Motor Racing/CMV Garry Jacobson VIC Mygale SJ12a
3 Sonic Motor Racing/Accuweigh Rhett Noonan WA Mygale SJ11a
4 Shamick Racing/KTEQ Rentals Anton de Pasquale VIC Mygale SJ08a
6 Anglo Motorsport Jonathan Venter NSW Mygale SJ10a
7 Borland Racing/Davbridge Shae Davies QLD Spectrum 014
12 Ozstaff/Evans Motorsport Group Liam Sager QLD Mygale SJ10a
14 Minda Motorsport/CAMS Rising Stars Macauley Jones NSW Mygale SJ11a
21 Richter Racing Dylan Richter SA Spectrum 011b
22 Synergy Motorsport Matt Campbell QLD Spectrum 012
27 Synergy Motorsport/AVCS Consulting Sam Power SA Spectrum 014
36 State Fleet Services Matthew Roesler SA Spectrum 011c
41 Team BRM Simon Hodge SA Mygale SJ12a
49 Minda Motorsport/CAMS Rising Stars Jack LeBrocq VIC Mygale SJ12a
55 Pixelrock Creative/Borland Racing William Hall WA Spectrum 012
62 Synergy Motorsport/IFS Mathew Hart ACT Spectrum 014
94 HOT PROPERTY Jordan Lloyd QLD Mygale SJ11a
96 Coates Hire/Monster/Money Choice David Sera VIC Mygale SJ011a

Comments are closed.