HRT locks in Gold Coast driver line-up

The HRT and Supercheap Auto Racing have confirmed their Gold Coast drivers

The HRT and Supercheap Auto Racing have confirmed their Gold Coast drivers

The Holden Racing Team and its sister outfit Supercheap Auto Racing have confirmed their complete driver line-ups for October’s Armor All Gold Coast 600.

The diver pairings on the red side of the garage will have a familiar feel to last year as Australian IndyCar driver Ryan Briscoe and British GT driver Darrren Turner return to partner Garth Tander and James Courtney respectively.

Scotsman Peter Dumbreck, meanwhile, is scheduled to make his first V8 Supercars start alongside Russell Ingall.

The 38-year-old Dumbreck currently races in the World Endurance Championship alongside Australian David Brabham, having spent 2010 and 2011 in the GT1 World Championship.

In addition to racing sports and GT cars, his career has included five seasons in the DTM.

Having previously holidayed on the Gold Coast, Dumbreck says he’s looking forward to a racing return.

“I have great memories of the Gold Coast and I’m looking forward to finally getting back there after almost 20 years, and to also catching up with Russell for the first time in 15 years – it’s going to be fun,” he said.

“I’m really excited to be racing V8 Supercars. I watched last year’s race on TV – it was a great spectacle, the racing was close and the track looks amazing. The cars are close to my heart, similar in ways to DTM and Super GT.

“I’ve also heard they are difficult to drive, so I’m under no illusion that I’ll jump in and be quick straight away. The pre-race test will be important for me to get my head around the car and what I need to do to take care of it for Russell and his championship.”

The news leaves Tekno Autosports and Tony D’Alberto Racing as the only outfits yet to confirm their Gold Coast drivers.

The 2012 Armor All Gold Coast 600 is scheduled to take place on the October 19-21 weekend.

Updated international driver list for the Armor All Gold Coast 600

Sebastien Bourdais (#1), Richard Lyons (#888)

Walkinshaw Racing
Ryan Briscoe (#2), Darren Turner (#22), Peter Dumbreck (#66)

Tony D’Alberto Racing

Stone Brothers Racing
Simon Pagenaud (#4), Jeroen Bleekemolen (#9), David Brabham (#47)

Ford Performance Racing
Will Power (#5), Mika Salo (#6), Nick Heidfeld (#55)

Kelly Racing
Marco Andretti (#7), Franck Montagny (#11), Graham Rahal (#15), Justin Wilson (#51)

Dick Johnson Racing
Gianni Morbidelli (#12), Max Papis (#17), Peter Kox (#18), Boris Said (#49)

Brad Jones Racing
Stephane Sarrazin (#8), Nicholas Minnasian (#14), Jamie Campbell Walter (#21)

Tekno Autosports

Lucas Dumbrell Motorpsort
Mike Conway (#30)

Garry Rogers Motorsport
James Hinchcliffe (#TBA), Ricky Taylor (#TBA)

Comments are closed.