Ryan Hunter-Reay takes IndyCar Series win

Sunday 16th September, 2012 - 2:00pm


Ryan Hunter-Reay is the 2012 IndyCar Series champion

Ryan Hunter-Reay is the 2012 IndyCar Series champion

Ryan Hunter-Reay has clinched the 2012 IndyCar title after a thrilling season finale at Auto Club Speedway, Fontana today.

Australia’s Will Power was leading the championship coming into the final race but crashed out while battling Hunter-Reay on Lap 56 of 250 at the oval course.

Power narrowly avoided crashing into to Hunter-Reay, who was running the high line at the time.

Team Penske was able to repair Power’s car but was soon back in the garage, as a result Hunter-Reay was required to finish fifth or better to steal the title.

Hunter-Reay, driving the Andretti Autosport DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda car, achieved his desired result, finishing fourth behind winner Ed Carpenter and the Ganassi duo of Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon.

Hunter-Reay’s fourth place gave him the title by three points in a tense finish to the season.

The result makes it the third-consecutive time that Power has been denied the coveted IndyCar title at the final race of the season.

CLICK HERE for earlier comment from Will Power about his early race exit.

Race results, IndyCar, Fontana

1. (5) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevy, 250, Running
2. (9) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 250, Running
3. (15) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 250, Running
4. (22) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Chevy, 250, Running
5. (17) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 250, Running
6. (18) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 250, Running
7. (21) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 249, Contact
8. (1) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Chevy, 249, Running
9. (7) Katherine Legge, Dallara-Chevy, 249, Running
10. (23) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Honda, 249, Running
11. (4) JR Hildebrand, Dallara-Chevy, 248, Running
12. (12) James Jakes, Dallara-Honda, 248, Running
13. (19) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Chevy, 247, Running
14. (24) Wade Cunningham, Dallara-Honda, 246, Running
15. (20) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 246, Running
16. (14) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 244, Running
17. (2) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 244, Running
18. (3) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 240, Contact
19. (8) Oriol Servia, Dallara-Chevy, 231, Running
20. (16) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 229, Contact
21. (10) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 118, Electrical
22. (6) Rubens Barrichello, Dallara-Chevy, 107, Mechanical
23. (25) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 80, Mechanical
24. (13) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 66, Contact
25. (11) EJ Viso, Dallara-Chevy, 65, Mechanical
26. (26) Simona de Silvestro, Dallara-Lotus, 16, Mechanical

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!