Luke Youlden holds on in Qualifying Race 1

Saturday 15th September, 2012 - 3:10pm


Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Luke Youlden has held off a train of rivals to take out the opening Qualifying Race at the Dick Smith Sandown 500.

The SP Tools Falcon driver took the lead from pole-sitter John McIntyre part-way through the opening lap and was not headed for the duration.

McIntyre pressured Youlden for the majority of the race, before losing places to Dean Canto and Paul Dumbrell as his rear tyres faded in the closing laps.

Dumbrell in turn found a way past Canto on the penultimate lap to follow Youlden home by 0.2s.

Canto secured third from McIntyre, Warren Luff, Nick Percat, Scott McLaughlin, Andrew Thompson, Greg Ritter and Alex Davison.

The biggest drama of the 20 lap race occurred on the opening turn when Paul Morris collided with David Besnard, who in turn pushed Steven Richards into a spin.

Richards dropped to 27th in the fracas, but recovered to 19th by the flag.

Morris, meanwhile, was promptly handed a drive-through penalty for his role in the incident and finished 28th.

Dick Johnson Racing stable-mate Allan Simonsen was just one place better off at the chequered flag after coming off worst in a midrace dispute over Turn 9 with Owen Kelly.

Although not officially a race win in the V8 Supercars history books,the race result marks the first victory for a team other than Ford Performance Racing or TeamVodafone since Sandown last November.

Each co-driver and primary driver is awarded championship points for the finishing position of their car in both of today’s races.

Qualifying Race 2 is set to take place at 1638 local time.

See below for the full Qualifying Race 1 result, which will serve as the grid order for Qualifying Race 2

1 SP Tools Racing Luke Youlden Ford Falcon FG 20 23:57.8838
2 TeamVodafone Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 20 23:58.1048
3 The Bottle-O Racing Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG 20 23:58.3484
4 Trading Post FPR Ford John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 20 23:59.8790
5 TeamVodafone Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:00.1831
6 Holden Racing Team Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:01.1582
7 Tekno Autosports Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:01.5507
8 Lucky 7 Racing Andrew Thompson Ford Falcon FG 20 24:02.4490
9 Fujitsu Racing GRM Greg Ritter Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:02.7321
10 Team Norton DJR Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 20 24:04.8367
11 Holden Racing Team Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:05.1772
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:06.6871
13 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:07.0057
14 Irwin Racing Craig Baird Ford Falcon FG 20 24:09.0900
15 Jim Beam Racing Matthew Halliday Ford Falcon FG 20 24:11.8509
16 Team Hiflex Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 20 24:12.3545
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:12.6725
18 Wilson Security Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:15.6390
19 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 20 24:16.0105
20 Supercheap Auto Racing Christian Klien Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:16.3424
21 Fujitsu Racing GRM Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:22.3482
22 Pepsi Max Crew Owen Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:22.9355
23 Team iSelect Scott Pye Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:25.0211
24 Lockwood Racing David Besnard Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:25.5572
25 Fair Dinkum Racing Daniel Gaunt Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:26.2122
26 Tekno Autosports Jonny Reid Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:26.5340
27 Jim Beam Racing Allan Simonsen Ford Falcon FG 20 24:32.9682
28 VIP Petfoods Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 20 24:58.7932

UPDATE: The #5 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon has been excluded from Qualifying Race 1 for a post-race parc ferme infringement. Mark Winterbottom will now start Qualifying Race 2 from the back of the grid.

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!