F3 field bolstered by new competitors for Island finale

Friday 14th September, 2012 - 11:40am


Jake Fouracre

New Mygale Formula 3 recruit Jake Fouracre

The Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship has been boosted by the entries of Nathan Morcom and Jake Fouracre for the final round at Phillip Island next weekend.

Morcom is welcomed back to the Australian Formula 3 series following a troubled stint in the US F2000 series.

The Sydneysider couldn’t hide his excitement as he gets back behind the wheel of an F3 car for the first time since the Sydney Motorsport Park Gold Star Round in 2010.

“I’m really looking forward to driving an F3 car again, especially at Phillip Island,” he said.

“F3s are the fastest cars currently racing in Australia, and The Island is the fastest circuit in Australia.

“I felt immediately at home when I drove an F3 for the first time at Eastern Creek two years ago.

“Without doing any testing, I was only half a second off the National class fastest lap in the races.”

In a coup for Morcom, it has also been confirmed that his race engineer will be 2007 Gold Star champion Tim Macrow.

Morcom will drive Astuti Motorsport’s Dallara F307-Renault, sponsored by Direct Plasterboard Outlet and Rondo, at the 4.445km Victorian circuit.

While Fouracre replaces reigning Australian Formula Ford Champion Cameron Waters at G-Force Motorsport.

Fouracre, who is the 2011 Victorian Formula Ford Champion will be making his first appearance in the Australian Drivers Championship.

His debut will also be his first racing weekend in any wings and slicks formula and his first race meeting since the Albert Park round of the Australian Formula Ford Championship.

The youngster remained level headed in his approach the final round of the championship.

“I’m under no illusions that we’re going to go there and win, but if we could be around the top five or so then I think we would have done a good job.” He said.

“Cameron Waters proved that the Mygale has good pace so that is an achievable goal for us.

“I’ll test the car for the first time at Winton this Friday and then we’ll look forward to Phillip Island.

“I haven’t done a lot of racing this year but I know the track well so it will all be about getting comfortable with the limits of the Mygale chassis.”

In other Australian Formula 3 news Team BRM’s Jordan Skinner and John Magro will be absent form the Phillip Island round.

Skinner will be absent due to his budget running out, while Magro’s Mercedes engine is currently in Germany getting repaired after it blew at the last round of the championship at Queensland Raceway.

With 11 cars entered for Phillip Island, car numbers are on the increase for the category, which is up 3.5 cars per round compared to last year.

See below for F3’s Phillip Island entry list. 

1 1 C Gilmour Racing / WASH Chris Gilmour QLD Dallara F307 – Mercedes Benz 2000 Red / Sliver
2 6 C R-Tek Motorsport James Winslow UK Dallara F307 – Mercedes Benz 2000 Black / Orange
3 7 C R-Tek Motorsport / Forpark Australia Steel Guiliana NSW Dallara F307 – Mercedes Benz 2000 Black / Orange
4 8 N R-Tek Motorsport Mike Wayne SA Dallara F304 – Spiess Opel 2000 Gray / Red
5 9 N R-Tek Motorsport Jon Collins NSW Dallara F304 – Spiess Opel 2000 Gray / Red
6 11 C Astuti Motorsport / Yellow Tail Wines Nathan Morcom NSW Dallara F307 – Renault Sodemo 2000 Yellow
7 22 N LORD Structural Adhesives Lockie Marshall VIC Dallara F304 – Renault Sodemo 2000 Red
8 42 N BF Racing / Vic’s Timbers & Dressing Ben Gersekowski QLD Dallara F304 – Spiess Opel 2000 Black / Orange
9 46 C Harvest Motorsport Roman Krumins QLD Mygale M10 – Mercedes Benz 2000 Black
10 48 C G Force Motorsport / Mygale Australia Jake Fouracre VIC Mygale M07 – Mercedes Benz 2000 Black / Orange
11 93 N BF Racing Hayden Cooper QLD Dallara F304 – Spiess Opel 2000 White comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!