Besnard crashes Coulthard Commodore in Practice 2

Friday 14th September, 2012 - 12:49pm


The #14 Holden was returned to the scrutineering area after its shunt

The #14 Holden was returned to the scrutineering area after its shunt

Practice 2 for the V8 Supercars at the Dick Smith Sandown 500 has seen David Besnard suffer a heavy crash in Fabian Coulthard’s Brad Jones Racing Holden.

The Queenslander ran off the road at the high-speed Turn 6 before making contact with the outside wall. The track had been drying at the time of the incident following an earlier shower.

While Besnard was able to walk away from the incident, the session was stopped for almost 10 minutes while marshalls recovered the stricken car.

The 40 minute session, for co-drivers only, resumed with just three minutes remaining.

Paul Dumbrell was one of several drivers able to complete two flying laps after the resumption, knocking previous fast-man Cameron McConville from the top of the times with his second effort.

McConville’s earlier lap was good enough for second fastest ahead of Dean Canto, Andrew Thompson, Steven Richards, Warren Luff, Christian Klien, Scott McLaughlin, Greg Ritter and Alex Davison.

Dumbrell and Luff had set the early pace in their respective TeamVodafone Holdens before threatening skies delivered a significant shower shortly after the 10 minute mark, sending the entire filed scurrying to pitlane.

With the track not soaked enough for full wets, drivers soon began returning to the circuit to explore the ever-improving grip level.

McConville finally bested Dumbrell’s early effort at the 27 minute mark – a feat that was immediately followed by Besnard’s crash.

More than half of the field were then able to improve their times during the frantic final three minutes as the track returned to its best.

The third and final practice session of the day will take place at 1400 local time.

See below for the full Practice 2 result

1 Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.9915
2 Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.1050 0:00.1135
3 Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG 1:11.3220 0:00.3305
4 Andrew Thompson Ford Falcon FG 1:11.3261 0:00.3346
5 Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 1:11.3574 0:00.3659
6 Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.3649 0:00.3734
7 Christian Klien Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.4169 0:00.4254
8 Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.4292 0:00.4377
9 Greg Ritter Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.5433 0:00.5518
10 Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:11.5629 0:00.5714
11 Luke Youlden Ford Falcon FG 1:11.7543 0:00.7628
12 Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.7618 0:00.7703
13 Owen Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.7656 0:00.7741
14 Matthew Halliday Ford Falcon FG 1:11.7673 0:00.7758
15 John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 1:11.7819 0:00.7904
16 Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 1:11.8276 0:00.8361
17 Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.8548 0:00.8633
18 Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.8671 0:00.8756
19 Craig Baird Ford Falcon FG 1:11.8801 0:00.8886
20 David Besnard Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.8841 0:00.8926
21 Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 1:12.0380 0:01.0465
22 Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.3010 0:01.3095
23 David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.3154 0:01.3239
24 Allan Simonsen Ford Falcon FG 1:12.3404 0:01.3489
25 Jonny Reid Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.5763 0:01.5848
26 Scott Pye Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.6032 0:01.6117
27 Daniel Gaunt Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.6304 0:01.6389
28 Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.8278 0:01.8363

See below for’s Sandown 500 Race Guide

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!