GRM signs the first of its Gold Coast 600 drivers

Monday 10th September, 2012 - 10:11am


Garry Rogers Motorsport driver Michael Caruso

Garry Rogers Motorsport driver Michael Caruso

Garry Rogers Motorsport has signed the first of its Armor All Gold Coast 600 drivers.

Andretti Autosport IndyCar driver James Hinchcliffe will join the Victorian Holden team for the October 19-21 street race.

The confirmation leaves just six spots to be confirmed ahead of the third-annual ‘international flavoured’ V8 event.

See full list of confirmed drivers below.

The 25-year-old Canadian also confirmed he will compete with backing from his IndyCar title sponsor GoDaddy.

James Hinchcliffe

James Hinchcliffe

Hinchcliffe joins his Andretti Autosports team-mate Marco Andretti in the V8 field, and says he is looking forward to his maiden V8 drive.

“For me, it’s a dream come true,” Hinchcliffe told

“I’ve always wanted to get behind [the wheel of] one of those cars. I’ve watched the racing for years on TV and they’re just so bad ass. The races are awesome and the drivers are great.”

GRM has enjoyed a solid run of success on the Gold Coast in recent years. Patrick Long made his debut alongside Michael Caruso in 2010, finishing a fine fourth in Sunday’s race. Last year, the team gave Simon Pagenaud his V8 debut, and paired with Lee Holdsworth, the Frenchman finished third.

Hinchcliffe says he has big shoes to fill at GRM.

“This team has had a phenomenal run of success at this race with international drivers coming in and you don’t want to be the guy who doesn’t hold up his end of the bargain,” he said.

Current International driver list for the Armor All Gold Coast 600

Sebastien Bourdais (#1), Richard Lyons (#888)

Walkinshaw Racing
Darren Turner (#TBA), TBA, TBA

Tony D’Alberto Racing

Stone Brothers Racing
Simon Pagenaud (#4), Jeroen Bleekemolen (#9), David Brabham (#47)

Ford Performance Racing
Will Power (#5), Mika Salo (#6), Nick Heidfeld (#55)

Kelly Racing
Marco Andretti (#7), Franck Montagny (#11), Graham Rahal (#15), Justin Wilson (#51)

Dick Johnson Racing
Gianni Morbidelli (#12), Max Papis (#17), Peter Kox (#18), Boris Said (#49)

Brad Jones Racing
Stephane Sarrazin (#8), Nicholas Minnasian (#14), Jamie Campbell Walter (#21)

Tekno Autosports

Lucas Dumbrell Motorpsort
Mike Conway (#30)

Garry Rogers Motorsport
James Hinchcliffe (#TBA), TBA

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!