Bathurst 12 Hour winning team confirms 2013 return

Wednesday 29th August, 2012 - 7:09pm


The Bathurst 12 Hour-winning team Phoenix Racing will return in 2013

The Bathurst 12 Hour-winning team Phoenix Racing will return in 2013

Bathurst 12 Hour winning team Phoenix Racing has confirmed a downsized program for the 2013 race.

Phoenix Racing has entered a single-car program for the 2013 event in one of the latest 2012-specification Audi R8 LMS Ultra. The driver line-up and sponsor package is yet to be confirmed.

Last year, the German team entered two cars, one for race winners Darryl O’Young, Christopher Meis and Christer Jons, plus the ‘Aussie Audi’ driven by Bathurst 1000 champion Craig Lowndes, Mark Eddy and Warren Luff.

Team manager Bernhard Demmer says that the team will be able to draw on its 2012 experience at next year’s race.

“Phoenix Racing is really looking forward to a start at the 2013 Bathurst 12 Hour race,” said Demmer.

“The 2012 race was a great experience for us. The Mount Panorama circuit is one of the most challenging and exciting tracks in the world. A strong field of competitors and the difficult weather conditions made the win very valuable for the whole team. A fast car, a very good pit-stop crew and a precise strategy are very important at Bathurst.”

Phoenix has had a remarkable season that has seen the team dominate the fiercely competitive world of GT3 racing in style.

Following their success down under, the team went on to win the Nurburgring 24 hour race in June and then backed that up with a crushing victory in the recent Spa 24 hour against a record field of more than 70 GT3 vehicles.

The 2013 Bathurst 12 Hour will be held on February 8-10, with entries closing on December 12 this year.

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!