Power on cusp of first IndyCar title after Sonoma podium


Monday 27th August, 2012 - 8:58am


Will Power

Ryan Briscoe upset the script by winning the Sonoma IndyCar race this morning but Will Power edged closer to clinching his maiden title.

After dominating the first half of the race Power lost out after slowing for an accident and a tardy pit stop which propelled Briscoe to the lead.

Briscoe held sway and Power had to hold off a determined Dario Franchitti to finish second.

Power extended his lead in the Championship after problems struck his maiden threats, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Kiwi Scott Dixon. The Toowoomba driver now leads Hunter-Reay by 36 points with two races remaining.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was spun around when in fourth position on the hairpin on a restart with 11 laps to go and was shuffled back to 20th position. He finished 18th after the confrontation with Alex Tagliani.

“He’s (Tagliani) an idiot. He’s known for doing that,” Ryan Hunter-Reay fumed. “It’s usual Tagliani, he’s thinking right in front of himself.”

Scott Dixon had a troubled race which started on lap 11 when he was turned around after Helio Castroneves misjudged his braking and clipped the Kiwi’s right-rear tyre. Three laps later Dixon was called into the pits to try to make the most of an early stop when the Ganassi team stuck on red tyres.

Later Dixon would have an off-course excursion and then had to serve a drive-through penalty after running over pit equipment.

Dixon’s faint Championship hopes have all but been extinguished as he finished 13th.

Sonoma Results

1 Ryan Briscoe running
2 Will Power running
3 Dario Franchitti running
4 Rubens Barrichello running
5 Graham Rahal running
6 Helio Castroneves running
7 Simon Pagenaud running
8 JR Hilderbrand running
9 Alex Tagliani running
10 Tony Kanaan running
11 Justin Wilson running
12 James Jakes running
13 Scott Dixon running
14 Mike Conway running
15 Sebastian Sevaadra running
16 EJ Viso running
17 Simona de Silvestro running
18 Ryan Hunter-Reay running
19 Orial Servia running
20 Ed Carpenter running
21 Charlie Kimball running
22 Sebastien Bourdais contact
23 Josef Newgarden contact
24 Katherine Legge Mechanical
25 Marco Andretti Mechanical
26 James Hinchcliffe Mechanical
27 Takuma Sato Mechanical


Full IndyCar standings

1 Will Power 422
2 Ryan Hunter-Reay 386
3 Helio Castroneves 381
4 Scott Dixon 368
5 Simon Pagenaud 337
6 Tony Kanaan 327
7 James Hinchcliffe 326
8 Ryan Briscoe 317
9 Dario Franchitti 306
10 Graham Rahal 286
11 JR Hilderbrand 257
12 Justin Wilson 253
13 Oriol Servia 249
14 Rubens Barrichello 247
15 Takuma Sato 243
16 Marco Andretti 237
17 Alex Tagliani 236
18 Charlie Kimball 228
19 Mike Conway 219
20 EJ Viso 212
21 James Jakes 202
22 Ed Carpenter 199
23 Josef Newgarden 186
24 Sebastien Bourdais 161
25 Simona de Silvestro 160
26 Katherine Legge 115
27 Sebastian Sevaadra 29
28 Ana Beatriz 28
29 Townsend Bell 26
30 Georgio Pantano 16
31 Michel Jourdain 16
32 Bryan Clausen 13
33 Wade Cunningham 13
34 Jean Alesi 13

Comments are closed.