Whincup takes back V8 title lead with Race 19 victory


Sunday 26th August, 2012 - 5:03pm


Jamie Whincup leads the field at the start of today's race

Jamie Whincup leads the field at the start of today’s race

Jamie Whincup has struck back, scoring a dominant victory in Race 19 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Whincup finished ahead of team-mate Craig Lowndes and Ford Performance Racing rival Mark Winterbottom.

The victory has vaulted Whincup back into the lead of the Championship by one point over Winterbottom.

The result, TeamVodafone’s eighth race win in a row, has narrowed the points gap between the four leading drivers, with Whincup, Winterbottom, Will Davison and Lowndes all separated by 154 points.

In a largely mundane race, the only positional changes amongst the top three was when Lowndes lost time during his first pit stop with a right rear wheel nut issue. Winterbottom passed Lowndes, with the position eventually reverting in the final stop.

Russell Ingall finished a fine fourth, continuing his solid form from Queensland Raceway.

Fifth place went to Davison, who finished ahead of a charging Fabian Coulthard.

Coulthard spent the majority of the race enjoying a scrap with David Reynolds, with the pair running nose-to-tail for the majority of the 56 lap race.

Reynolds held the upper hand until Coulthard passed him on Lap 39. On the same lap, Coulthard slipped off the road at Turn 11, handing the spot back to The Bottle-O Racing Ford driver.

Coulthard re-passed Reynolds the next lap at Turn 4 and held onto sixth place until the end.

Reynolds was forced to withstand pressure from Coulthard’s team-mate Jason Bright in the closing laps, but held off his advances.

After qualifying third, Bright made a tardy start and slipped back through the pack. He pulled off a brilliant double pass on James Courtney and Michael Caruso at Turn 8 for eighth place where he remained for the remainder of the day.

The Holden Racing Team duo of Garth Tander and James Courtney rounded out the top 10. Tander also scored a new track lap record.

The return of V8 Supercars to the Eastern Creek circuit saw just over 24,000 people roll through the gates over two days.

The next event of the V8 Supercars Championship will be the Dick Smith Sandown 500, the first of the two-driver races.

Results, Race 19, V8 Supercars

1 TeamVodafone  Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:27:43.9374
2 TeamVodafone  Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:27:55.3802
3 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford  Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 56 01:27:57.4950
4 Supercheap Auto Racing  Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:28:00.8288
5 Trading Post FPR Ford  Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 56 01:28:07.9734
6 Lockwood Racing  Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:28:08.8310
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team  David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 56 01:28:11.5630
8 Team BOC  Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:28:11.9560
9 Holden Racing Team  Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:28:13.3355
10 Holden Racing Team  James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:28:29.6729
11 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:28:41.2585
12 Tekno Autosports  Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:28:45.7430
13 SP Tools Racing  Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 56 01:28:48.2606
14 Lucky 7 Racing  Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 56 01:28:50.4332
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:28:58.8979
16 Team Norton DJR  James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 56 01:29:01.2681
17 Tekno Autosports  Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:29:01.4500
18 Jim Beam Racing  Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 56 01:29:09.4087
19 Jim Beam Racing  Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 56 01:29:12.1495
20 Team Hiflex  Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 56 01:29:12.1777
21 Irwin Racing  Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 55 01:27:58.8141
22 VIP Petfoods  Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 55 01:27:58.8141
23 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 55 01:28:15.5386
24 Team iSelect  Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 55 01:28:17.0211
25 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing  Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 55 01:28:38.6387
26 Pepsi Max Crew  Jaques Villeneuve Holden Commodore VE2 55 01:28:39.1719
27 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 55 01:29:15.6447
28 Wilson Security Racing  David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 52 01:28:00.2569

Championship points after Race 19

1 Jamie Whincup 2238
2 Mark Winterbottom 2237
3 Will Davison 2116
4 Craig Lowndes 2084
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 1634
6 Garth Tander 1527
7 Tim Slade 1464
8 Fabian Coulthard 1432
9 Lee Holdsworth 1286
10 David Reynolds 1179
11 James Courtney 1169
12 Jason Bright 1149
13 Russell Ingall 1148
14 Michael Caruso 1146
15 Todd Kelly 1082
16 Rick Kelly 1057
17 Steven Johnson 1037
18 Michael Patrizi  979
19 Steve Owen  961
20 Jonathon Webb  946
21 Dean Fiore  857
22 Tony D’Alberto  854
23 Taz Douglas  668
24 Karl Reindler  653
25 James Moffat  650
26 David Wall  619
27 Alexandre Premat  577
28 Greg Murphy  315

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Sydney Motorsport Park 360 Race Guide.

Comments are closed.