PIRTEK POLL: Which Dunlop Series driver has impressed in 2012?

The Dunlop Series top three – Mostert, McLaughlin and Pye

The Dunlop Series top three – Mostert, McLaughlin and Pye

Four rounds down, three to go, and the winner of the 2012 Dunlop Series is still anyone’s guess.

Matt Stone Racing’s Scott McLaughlin currently leads the V8 Supercars Development Series, 88 points ahead of Chaz Mostert.

McLaughlin, now in his third year of V8 Supercars competition, has won two rounds and has established a handy buffer over early leader Mostert.

Mostert’s season was put on the back foot at Queensland Raceway where he was involved in an incident with Nick Percat that sent him to the rear of the field. A great comeback through the field was not rewarded when he received a two controversial points penalties for separate clashes with Marcus Zukanovic and rookie Cameron Waters.

Regardless, Mostert won the Ipswich event and appears as McLaughlin’s biggest threat.

Third in the title standings is V8 rookie Scott Pye. Having only a handful of test days under his belt prior to the start of 2012, Pye has impressed, even if he is steering one the best V8 Supercars in existence. The Triple Eight star hasn’t let down his team boss Roland Dane, producing two pole positions, two overall podiums and keeping his Monster Energy Commodore free of damage.

Walkinshaw Racing’s Nick Percat is fourth and remains within striking distance of the leaders, but may need some luck to challenge for the ultimate prize. The Coates Hire-backed driver won his first DVS race at Barbagallo this year, plus scoring another win at Townsville. It may not have been the ideal season thus far for the reigning Bathurst 1000 champion, but given the next round will be at Mount Panorama, a turn of form would be timely.

Ash Walsh, now in his second DVS year, has been one of the revelations of the year, sitting fifth in his Simpro MSR Falcon. Consistency, plus the odd turn of top three speed has kept him within shouting distance of the leaders.

With three rounds remaining, the title is a long way from being decided.

Who has impressed you the most in 2012? Is it the experienced likes of McLaughlin, Mostert or Percat? Or have rookies Pye, Sonic’s George Miedecke (ninth overall) or Cameron Waters (19th overall) raised your eyebrows?

Vote now on the latest edition of the Pirtek Poll – only on Speedcafe.com.

Comments are closed.