PIRTEK POLL: Who will break T8 and FPR’s winning run first?


Wednesday 8th August, 2012 - 4:34pm


FPR's Mark Winterbottom with Triple Eight's Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup

FPR’s Mark Winterbottom with Triple Eight’s Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup

Triple Eight and Ford Performance Racing have dominated the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship, with no driver from any other team able to stand on the top step of the podium this year.

FPR’s Will Davison leads the 2012 race win count with six, ahead of title leader Jamie Whincup (5), while Mark Winterbottom and Craig Lowndes share three wins a piece.

After Whincup’s opening race win at the Clipsal 500, FPR went on a seven race winning streak, before Triple Eight found its stride. After Craig Lowndes’ race wins at Queensland Raceway last weekend, the team has now taken six wins in-a-row.

And to rub salt into their rivals wounds, the last time a non-T8/FPR entry won a race was back in November 2011 when Jack Daniel’s Racing’s Rick Kelly won on a wet Saturday at Sandown.

This year’s podium count doesn’t make for much better reading for the non-T8/FPR teams. Whincup has stood on the podium 14 times from the 17 races. Winterbottom visited the dais 12 times from Davison (11), Craig Lowndes (6), Garth Tander (4), Shane van Gisbergen (2), Tim Slade (1) and Jason Bright (1).

So, who will be first to break Triple Eight and FPR’s run of wins this year? Vote now in Speedcafe.com’s Pirtek Poll.

Comments are closed.