Hunter-Reay secures hat-trick in Toronto

Monday 9th July, 2012 - 9:38am


Ryan Hunter-Reay celebrates another victory

Ryan Hunter-Reay celebrates another victory

Ryan Hunter-Reay has taken the lead of the Izod IndyCar Series after scoring his third race victory in succession.

The Andretti Autosport driver had both the speed and the fortune to win around the Toronto street circuit. Pitting immediately prior to a yellow flag period on the first round of stops eventually cycled the American to the front of the field, from where he could control the race.

The race eventually finished under yellow flags after a late restart caused chaos.

“Toronto is one of my favourite races, so this is a special one for sure,” said Hunter-Reay afterward.

“”(For the championship) we’re just concentrating on doing well, doing what we’ve been doing. We’ve been good on street circuits in the past.

“It’s nice to go from the ovals to a street course and be able to win on both.  It shows that this team is capable of a lot.”

Charlie Kimball and Mike Conway filled the top three places at the flag, but only after a Conway-induced fracas saw Kimball bounce into then third-placed Sebastien Bourdais, putting the Frenchman out of the race.

It was a tough day for Hunter-Reay’s key title rivals, with erstwhile points leader Will Power shuffled from the lead to the midpack during the first round of stops before a clash with Josef Newgarden damaged the Australian’s front-wing. He eventually finished 15th.

Countryman Ryan Briscoe took just 19th after contact with eventual 17th place-getter Dario Franchitti.

Franchitti’s team-mate Scott Dixon fared even worse – retiring with an engine failure after just seven laps.

Hunter-Reay now heads to the next event in Edmonton with a healthy 34 point lead over Power in the championship standings.

See below for the full result

 1. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti DW12 1h33m26.5096s
 2. Charlie Kimball Ganassi DW12     + 0.0757s
 3. Mike Conway Foyt DW12     + 0.2848s
 4. Tony Kanaan KV DW12     + 1.6672s
 5. Oriol Servia Panther/DRR DW12     + 1.9128s
 6. Helio Castroneves Penske DW12     + 2.4795s
 7. JR Hildebrand Panther DW12     + 2.6233s
 8. James Jakes Coyne DW12     + 3.7294s
 9. Takuma Sato KV DW12     + 6.5633s
10. Alex Tagliani Herta DW12     + 9.9764s
11. Rubens Barrichello KV DW12    + 11.4636s
12. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt DW12    + 43.8734s
13. Josef Newgarden Fisher DW12       + 1 lap
14. Sebastien Bourdais Dragon DW12       + 1 lap
15. Will Power Penske DW12       + 1 lap
16. Marco Andretti Andretti DW12       + 1 lap
17. Dario Franchitti Ganassi DW12       + 1 lap
18. Ed Carpenter Carpenter DW12       + 1 lap
19. Ryan Briscoe Penske DW12      + 2 laps
20. EJ Viso KV DW12      + 4 laps
DNF Justin Wilson Coyne DW12       67 laps
DNF James Hinchcliffe Andretti DW12       28 laps
DNF Graham Rahal Ganassi DW12       23 laps
DNF Simona de Silvestro HVM DW12        9 laps
DNF Scott Dixon Ganassi DW12        7 laps

Here are the race highlights

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!