Whincup holds off Lowndes for Race 15 win

Sunday 8th July, 2012 - 5:13pm


TeamVodafone's Jamie Whincup

TeamVodafone’s Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup has held off a determined Craig Lowndes to score victory in Race 15 of the V8 Supercars Championship at the Sucrogen Townsville 400.

Whincup and Lowndes jumped ahead of the three Ford Performance Racing Fords during the final round of pitstops before fighting over the victory.

The pair swapped positions twice over the course of the final stint before Whincup held on to win by 1s.

Their battle was momentarily halted by a Safety Car for Fabian Coulthard’s stranded Holden with just 13 laps remaining.

Lowndes had earlier lost position to Whincup towards the end of the middle stint when he momentarily tripped his pitlane speed limiter.

Will Davison took third ahead of Garth Tander, with the latter having made his way by Mark Winterbottom and David Reynolds in the closing laps.

Shane van Gisbergen climbed impressively from his 18th place grid slot to take seventh, while Jonathon Webb, Michael Patrizi and Jason Bright rounded out the top 10.

The race ran Safety Car free for its first 59 laps, allowing the FPR and TeamVodafone contenders to assert their authority over the field.

Pole-sitter Reynolds led the battle at the front for much of the race, but found himself shuffled to fifth with a small delay at his final stop.

Having run behind Reynolds for much of the race, Winterbottom found himself lacking the braking performance required to fight in the closing laps.

Webb and James Courtney were the only two drivers to start on the soft tyres, with the former taking the race lead from Reynolds by Lap 8.

The pair predictably lost ground while running the hard tyre during the middle stint, finally taking the chequered flag eighth and 15th respectively.

Coulthard’s retirement spelt the end of a troubled day for the Lockwood Commodore which suffered from a damaged left-rear hub following a touch with Rick Kelly. Coulthard had taken 11th position from Kelly at Turn 2 but failed to leave sufficient room for his rival on the exit.

Russell Ingall had an early end to his race after being involved in a mid-pack clash during the opening lap. The shunt saw Ingall drill the back of Lee Holdsworth’s IRWIN Falcon, which in turn made contact with Michael Caruso’s Fujitsu Commodore. Ingall later apologised to Holdsworth for the incident.

Their dramas allowed Jacques Villeneuve to take 24th in the final result, albeit one lap down on the victorious Whincup.

The V8 Supercars Championship now moves to Queensland Raceway for the Coates Hire Ipswich 300 on August 3-5.

See below for the full Race 15 result

1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:33:49.2414
2 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:33:51.0851
3 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 72 01:33:54.6063
4 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:33:56.2360
5 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 72 01:33:57.3700
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 72 01:33:57.7084
7 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 72 01:34:00.6448
8 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:01.8279
9 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:02.4474
10 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:02.7680
11 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 72 01:34:03.6201
12 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 72 01:34:03.8748
13 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 72 01:34:04.9348
14 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 72 01:34:05.3293
15 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:09.5015
16 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:09.9376
17 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:10.8412
18 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 72 01:34:11.3015
19 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:12.2236
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:13.4889
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:14.2981
22 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:34:15.6670
23 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 72 01:34:16.0794
24 Pepsi Max Crew Jaques Villeneuve Holden Commodore VE2 71 01:34:20.0610
25 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 66 01:34:28.4258
26 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 62 01:34:30.4815
DNF Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 44 01:13:24.8368
DNF Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2  7    10:21.5528

See below for the updated points standings

1 Jamie Whincup 1794
2 Mark Winterbottom 1694
3 Will Davison 1654
4 Craig Lowndes 1496
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 1280
6 Garth Tander 1239
7 Lee Holdsworth 1190
8 Tim Slade 1170
9 Fabian Coulthard 1030
10 David Reynolds  951
11 Todd Kelly  885
12 Jason Bright  882
13 James Courtney  866
14 Rick Kelly  844
15 Steven Johnson  815
16 Michael Caruso  810
17 Jonathon Webb  808
18 Steve Owen  742
19 Michael Patrizi  727
20 Russell Ingall  704
21 Dean Fiore  659
22 Tony D’Alberto  641
23 Taz Douglas  518
24 Karl Reindler  479
25 David Wall  454
26 Alexandre Premat  448
27 James Moffat  446
28 Greg Murphy  315
29 David Russell   42

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!