Australian GT team set for Aussie Racing Cars debut

Josh Hunt with the Erebus Aussie Racing Car

Josh Hunt with the Erebus Aussie Racing Car

Australian GT team Erebus Motorsport will expand its stable, entering the Aussie Racing Cars Series with a two-car team.

The Erebus squad will make its debut in the Aussies class with former Toyota Atlantic Series racer Josh Hunt and national racing debutant Guy Stewart at the wheel of the cars.

The call up to pilot the Erebus Motorsport FW1 Aussie Racing Car represents a ‘back to the future’ scenario for Hunt. He has raced an Aussie Racing Car previously, scoring pole on the streets of Surfers Paradise.

Of late, Hunt has been satisfying his racing needs behind the wheel of a South African-built Spead in the Australian Sports Racer Series and working as a driver trainer with the Mercedes-AMG Driving Academy. Recently, he set the outright lap record on the new layout at Sydney Motorsports Park.

Hunt says he is looking forward to his return to the Aussie Racing Cars Series.

“I’m really taken aback by the opportunity to join Erebus Motorsport,” said Hunt.

“There are plenty of race drivers out there without rides, so to be chosen by the Directors to be part of the organisation’s expansion, in many respects, is a real coup.

“Townsville is a brand new track for me, everyone that heads up to Townsville tells me its a fantastic event and I can’t wait to see that first hand. Living in Port Melbourne these days, a trip to the tropics in the middle of winter will be very welcome.”

Stewart acts as the tyre technician on Erebus Racing’s pair of SLS AMG GT3’s in the Australian GT Championship and divides his day jobs between his own business as an air conditioning mechanic, driver training and on Australian GT Championship race weekends.

It will be both Hunt and Stewart’s debut at the 2.86km Reid Park Townsville Street Circuit. Aussie Racing Cars will have four races supporting the Sucrogen Townsville 400 V8 Supercar event.

See below for a complete entry list for this weekend’s Aussie Racing Cars Series.

5 Kratzman Caravans Ben Grice Commodore
8 Vodafone Mark Griffith Commodore
9 ESP Print Management Tony Martin Toyota Aurion
10 Hot FM Martin Deckert Commodore
11 Allan Smith Racing Anthony Chemello Falcon
13 La Femme Lauren Gray Commodore
16 FW1 Cleaning Wax Travis Edwards Commodore
17 KTEQ Rentals Gus Robbins Falcon
18 Australec Klye Clews Commodore
19 Betta Computer Services Troy Adams Commodore
29 League Engineering Brendon Pingel Toyota Aurion
36 FW1 Cleaning Wax Darren Chamberlin Toyota Aurion
38 Armstrong Motorsport Ruth Bowler Ford Coupe
39 My Race Team Zac Schonberger Commodore
42 Young Racing Trent Young Falcon
48 Townsend Racing Nathan Townsend Commodore
50 ALB Distributions John Reynolds Falcon
51 Shane Dale Racing Shane Dale FJ Holden
53 Allen Smith Racing Allen Smith Falcon
55 Advan Tyler Owen Toyota Aurion
60 Spray Booth Services Sam Chester Falcon
61 Mako Eyewear Peter Carr Toyota Aurion
62 Erebus Motorsport Josh Hunt Toyota Aurion
63 Erebus Motorsport Guy Stewart Toyota Aurion
64 Amp Power Craig Woods Commodore
74 VIP Petfoods Darrin Masini Falcon
80 VIP Petfoods Maurice Masini Falcon
89 Ben Dowley Racing Ben Dowley Falcon
95 Big Kart Track Simon Smith Falcon
98 STR Builders Racing Scott Nichols Falcon

See below for’s Sucrogen Townsville 400 Race Guide

Comments are closed.